Subject Guides: Newspapers: Great Britain

Newspapers - Great Britain - Gale Newsvault

Millions of images and 400 years of content. Allows cross searching. U of A Libraries subscribes to select databases within Gale Newsvault. See below.

Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Allows cross searching of approx twenty newspaper collections.
Contains content in Afrikaans, Albanian, Algonquian languages, Arabic, Arawak, Bulgarian, Burmese, Catalan, Central American languages, Cherokee, Chinese, Choctaw, Croatian, Czech, Dakota, Danish, Delaware, Dutch, English, Esperanto, Finish, French / Français, French-based Creoles and Pidgins, Frisian languages, Gaelic languages, Galician, German, Germanic languages, Gothic, Greek, Guarani, Hawaiian, Hebrew, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Irish, Iroquoian languages, Italian, Japanese, Kannada, Korean, Latin, Latvian, Lithuanian, Malay, Manx, Maori, Marathi, Micmac, Mohawk, Nahuatl, North American Indian languages, Norwegian, Ojibwa, Old English, Osage, Polish Portuguese, Romance languages, Romanian, Russian, Salishan languages, Samaritan Aramaic, Samoan, Sanskrit, Scots, Scottish Gaelic, Serbian, Slavic languages, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog, Thai, Turkish, Urdu, Vietnamese, Welsh and Yiddish languages.
17th & 18th Century Burney Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window Also known as: |Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection| The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window Also known as: |Gale Nineteenth Century British Newspapers| The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains newspapers selected by the British Library to best represent 19th century Britain. Includes national and regional newspapers.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004 This link opens in a new window This collection from Gale includes archive of The Daily Mail since 1896. As well as providing access to the regular edition of this path-breaking newspaper, the archive also contains the Atlantic Editions, printed on board the transatlantic cruise liners between 1923 and 1931.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2020 This link opens in a new window Provided by Gale, this includes searchable copies of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2020.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2016 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provided by Gale, this includes searchable full-text archive of the Financial Times.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window This collection from Gale includes full facsimile run of the Illustrated London News. Fully searchable, and includes high-quality color facsimile images. Areas covered include politics, social history, fashion, theatre, media, literature, advertising and graphic design, as well as genealogy.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Independent Historical Archive, 1986-2016 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2016 This link opens in a new window Also known as: |The Sunday Times Historical Archive| Contains the full text of the Sunday Times newspaper.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2016 This link opens in a new window This collection offers a fundamental insight into domestic and international affairs and culture for a span of almost 150 years, providing an alternative voice to other national newspapers in the UK.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2019 This link opens in a new window This collection from Gale contains the full text archive of the Times Literary Supplement from 1902-2019 (most recent years not available).
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Times (London)

Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Times (London) Jan 5, 1981-
Factiva also provides American congressional committee hearings, publications of selected U.S. government departments and agencies,The Federal Register and state laws and regulations, publications of U.S. government watchdog organizations, and selected international government publications.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window Also known as: |The Times (London) Digital Archive| The complete digital edition of The Times (London) from 1785-2009. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Databases

British Library Newspapers, 1732-1950 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window Contains some newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Journals: Newspapers & Periodicals 1685-1815 This link opens in a new window Also known as 18th Century Journals, this database brings together rare journals printed between 1685 and 1815, illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging. Titles are primarily from the UK, but also includes some content from Canada, the Caribbean, Ireland and India.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Guardian and The Observer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Manchester
World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window A fully searchable, full text collection of hundreds of historical newspapers from diverse regions of the world. Included are 19th and 20th century African, Latin American and South Asian newspapers, as well as a large collection of historical American titles.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains text in Afrikaans, Bengali, Dutch, English, French / Français, German, Gujarati, Hebrew, Hindi, Japanese, Malagasy, Portuguese, Sotho, Southern Sotho, Spanish, Tami, Tonga, Tswana, Xhosa and Zulu languages
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900 This link opens in a new window Allows subject searching. The database intends to include every periodical and newspapers published on a regular bases within England from 1800-1900.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest - All News & Newspaper Databases This link opens in a new window Small selection of titles. Ireland. Scotland. Great Britain. Choose Publications then select Publication Subject to limit to region.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window