Subject Guides: Newspapers: United States

Newspapers - United States - Databases

PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current 90 days or less
Contains text in Afrikaans, Albanian, Arabic, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Burmese, Catalan, Cebuano, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French / Français, German, Greek, Gujarati, Hebrew, Hiligaynon, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Irish / Gaelic, Italian, Japanese, Kannada, Khmer, Korean, Kven, Lithuanian, Malay, Malayalam, Marathi, Nepali, Northern Sami, Norwegian, Odia, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Sinhala, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swahili, Swedish, Tagalog, Tamil, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, Vietnamese, Yiddish and Zulu languages.
ProQuest - All News & Newspaper Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Proquest databases: (1) US Major Dailes, (2) Historical Newspapers , (3) Canadian Newsstream
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies. Includes: Washington Post (January 1, 1984- )
Factiva also provides American congressional committee hearings, publications of selected U.S. government departments and agencies,The Federal Register and state laws and regulations, publications of U.S. government watchdog organizations, and selected international government publications.
Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International and domestic newspapers. 1985 onwards
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US Major Daily Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as: |US Major Dailies| and |U.S. Major Dailies|
Full text coverage of the |Chicago Tribune| (from 1985), the |Los Angeles Times| (from 1985), the |New York Times| (from 1980), the |Wall Street Journal| (from 1984), and the |Washington Post| (from 1987). Citation/abstract coverage for earlier years.

New York Times

Historic Thematic

Google News - all newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Chronicling America: American Historic Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Library of Congress' digital archive 1690 to the present

Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and more. Choose Publications to see a full list of titles. One of the oldest dates back to 1789 (Pittsburgh Post-Gazette). Active titles may have content as recent as a few years ago.
19th Century North American Newspapers This link opens in a new window Also known as | Nineteenth Century North American Newspapers. This Gale collection provides a window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America. The collection features publications from political party newspapers and mammoth dailies. It includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other groups and interests.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window Also known as | Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers. This Gale collection provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Antislavery Newspapers and Periodicals
Print index

African American Newspapers 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window African American Newspapers published from 1827-1998.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
African American Periodicals,1825-1995 This link opens in a new window Based upon James P. Danky’s monumental African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998). Drawn from the holdings of the Wisconsin Historical Society, African American Periodicals ranges over more than 150 years of American life, from slavery during the Antebellum Period to the struggles and triumphs of the modern era.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection includes the full-text of ejournals from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. The Library currently subscribes to Series 1 (1691-1820), Series 2 (1821-1937), Series 3 (1838-1852), Series 4 (1853-1865) and Series 5 (1866-1877).
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971 This link opens in a new window Explore the American immigrant experience. Includes extensive coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history and immigrant contributions to U.S. business, music, science, wars & more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains text in English, French / Français, German, Japanese and Yiddish languages.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HarpWeek: Electronic Access to Harper's Weekly, 1857-1912 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
New York Times inEDUCATION This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
New Yorker This link opens in a new window Current and archive issues of the New Yorker.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Vogue (US Edition) This link opens in a new window The complete run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. It preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and provides a unique historical record of American and international fashion, culture and society.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Major Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Michigan Chronicle This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window