Subject Guides: Physical Therapy: Free Resources for Alumni

Staying current

Create an auto alert that can be sent to your email on any subject of interest in Pubmed by searching a topic and then clicking on the link for "create alert" right underneath the search box. You need to create an NCBI account to use this feature.

REHAB+
Create a free account and keep up to date with the BEST articles in Physical Medicine and Rehab.
KT+
Contains peer reviewed journal literature relevant for KT. Preappraised for quality and newsworthiness. Sign up for a free account

Journal Article Abstract Databases

Pubmed
Biomedical database with abstracts of more than 30 million peer reviewed articles. Links to open access full text when available.

PEDro This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Physiotherapy Evidence Database, a free database with access to the abstracts of clinical practice guidelines, systematic review and randomized trials in physiotherapy. All trials in PEDro are independently assessed for quality

Health Systems Evidence (McMaster University)
Repository of syntheses of research evidence including evidence briefs for policy, overviews of systematic reviews, economic evaluations, descriptions of health systems, and health system reforms
Cochrane Library
Systematic reviews from the cochrane collaboration. Also a great place to identify randomized controlled trials
Center on Knowledge Translation for Disability and Rehabilitation Research
Systematic reviews in rehabilitation and disability research

Evidence Based / Clinical Resources

Physical Medicine and Rehab Section of Medscape emedicine
Summary of current evidence on many topics in Physical Medicine / Rehab
TRIP database
Guidelines, Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, Clinical trials

For your patients

Medline Plus
High quality patient information on most health topics.