Skip to main content

Primary Sources

Each collection contains dozens of databases. Cross search or chose a specific database.

Canadian Content

Limited Canadian content in Primary Source Best Bets 
For more options see HISTORY - CANADA - HISTORIC / PRIMARY SOURCES

Adam Matthew - Over 60 Primary Source Databases

Image from American Indians Histories and Culture database
Image from Empire Online database
Image from Frontier Life database
Image from Market Research and American Business, 1935 - 1965 database
Image from Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950 - 1975

.

  • Over 60 primary source databases
SUBJECTS  
Area Studies Literature
Cultural Studies Politics
Empire and Globalism Theatre
Ethnic Studies War and Conflict
History  

 

Alexander Street, a Proquest Company

  • Best bet for streaming historical content
  • Over 60 primary source databases
SUBJECTS   
Art & Design Literature & Language
Art & Architecture Music & Performing Arts
Fashion Studies Personal Interest
Diversity Personal Interest
Health Sciences Science & Engineering
History Social Sciences

 

Gale Primary Sources

  • Content spanning many centuries, geographic regions and subject areas 
DATABASES CATEGORIES  
Early Modern to Modern Period Legal Studies
Nineteenth Century Newspapers and Periodicals
Contemporary Studies  

 

History Vault (Proquest History Vault)

  • Best bet for USA content
  • Hundreds of databases  
SUBJECT AREA MODULES  
 Black Freedom Movement of the 20th Century American Politics and Society with a strong focus on the 20th Century
Southern Life and Slavery Labor unions, workers and radical politics in the 20th Century
Women's Rights Civil rights organizations of the 1950s and 1960
International Relations  

 

Primary Source Databases (A-Z List)

 

 

All Primary Source Databases

Primary Source Databases

University of Alberta Library has over 500 databases containing primary source content.   How do you choose?  

  • Go to the A-Z Databases where you will find three search boxes.  The default for the middle box is "All Database Types."  Change to "Primary Sources" then choose a Subject area and/or keywords 
     
  • Ask Us or contact your Subject Librarian