The Concise Dictionary of Medical-Legal Terms: A General Guide to Interpretation and Usage provides an easy-to-use reference to the common words and phrases used in medicine and law. Defines legal terms in their medical context as well as medical terms in their legal context. It brings together the philosophies, principles, causes and effects, approaches, and other fundamentals that seem to be relatively stable in medical-legal spheres.
The Encyclopedia of Forensic and Legal Medicine covers forensic and legal medicine (including related specialties and scientific, technical and legal issues). It brings together all appropriate aspects of forensic medicine and legal medicine and contains color figures, sample forms and other materials.
The following CCOHS (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) databases are available through the CCOHS Academic Support Program:
MSDS plus CHEMINFO: For users who need safety data on specific chemical products used in their workplaces (for example, cleaners, paints, glues, laboratory chemicals). The MSDS database provides current Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDSs) directly from suppliers and manufacturers. CHEMINFO contains detailed profiles of more than 1,300 important workplace chemicals, including health, fire and reactivity hazards and safe work practices. Records are designed for use by health and safety professionals, employees working with chemicals, users and writers of Material Safety Data Sheets, firefighters, and other emergency response personnel.
FTSS (Fiche techniques sur la sécurité des substances): Le disque FTSS vous donne accès à fiches signalétiques de langue française à jour venant de plus de 250 fabricants et fournisseurs nord-américains.
RTECS® (Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances): Critical toxicity data on more than 165,000 chemical substances in the Registry of Toxic Effects of Chemicals, enhanced by CCOHS.
OSH References Collection includes:
OSHLINE provides comprehensive international coverage of documents on occupational health and safety, as well as related fields. It contains detailed summaries of over 200,000 articles, reports and publications, spanning over 100 years. OSHLINE complements the coverage of NIOSHTIC®, which was discontinued in mid-1998.
NIOSHTIC® - Covers all aspects of occupational health and safety with a strong emphasis on toxicology.
NIOSHTIC®-2 - Featuring NIOSH-published or sponsored reports, NIOSHTIC-2 covers 1971 to present. A portion of references ? approximately 13,000 ? related to mining date from the 1930s. Types of documents include: NIOSH criteria documents, alerts and technical reports, Health Hazard Evaluations (HETA Reports), NIOSH-authored journal articles, books & symposia.
HSELINE - Produced by the UK Health and Safety Executive, HSELINE provides over 184,000 citations with abstracts to worldwide literature on occupational safety and health. Coverage of all UK Health and Safety Commission and Health and Safety Executive publications as well as a wide range of periodicals, books, conference proceedings, reports, and legislation. Predominantly oriented towards safety and industrial hazards, with an emphasis on Engineering, Manufacturing, Railways, Hazardous substances, Occupational Hygiene, Offshore safety, Agriculture, Mining.
CISILO - Bilingual database covering international health and safety literature from diverse countries.
Canadiana - CCHOS database offering references related to Canada. Includes references to reports, articles, conference proceedings, monographs and unpublished or limited distribution materials. Also includes selected TOXLINE® records from the US National Library of Medicine. Canadiana (French) includes references to French-language materials.
IPSC INCHEM: Provides ready access to hundreds of publications about chemicals from the international organizations that cooperate with the Information Program on Chemical Safety (IPCS).
CHEMINDEX: Guide to information resources on over 200,000 chemicals. Each CHEMINDEX record contains identification information on a unique substance, including Chemical names and synonyms, Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) registry numbers, a listing of the CCOHS databases that contain information on that substance.
Fatality Reports contains information about the circumstances surrounding occupationally related fatalities. Information is extracted from reports on inquests and inquiries into occupationally related fatalities across Canada.