Historical legal documents from the Legislative Assembly of Alberta plus retrospective and current Bylaws from a selection of Alberta Municipalities. The Assembly documents include Statutes and Revised Statutes, Ordinances of the Northwest Territories, Bills, Debates (Hansard), Journals of the Alberta Legislature and the Alberta Gazette.
A free searchable database of digitized versions of parliamentary publications from the 1st Session of the 1st Parliament (1867) until coverage at ourcommons.ca and sencanada.ca begins. The publications that are made available are: debates, journals, committee documentation and bills of both the Senate and the House of Commons. It also contains the Senate Minutes of Proceedings, the Rules of the Senate, the House of Commons Votes and Proceedings, and the Standing Orders of the House of Commons. Historical sessional papers are also available from 1867 to 1901.
Canadiana Online consists of monographs, journals and government publications. It captures the full span of Canada's documentary record, and includes material published from the time of the first European settlers to the first half of the 20th century and collections focused on Aboriginal (Indigenous) Studies, the history of French Canada, and the Hudson's Bay Company. Early Canadiana Online has been incorporated into this database in 2019.
Includes text in Chinook, Chipewyan, Cree, German, English, French / Français, Latin, Micmac, Mohawk, Nootka, Ojibwa, and Ukranian languages
Also known as: |Law Library Microform Consortium Digital|
The collection as of early 2005 consisted of colonial and some post-confederation Canadian (federal and provincial) statutes and cases, U.S. federal (executive, legislative and judicial) material, and U.S. military law material. Much of the Canadian material is not available elsewhere in digital format. Detailed contents descriptions are available in the database and are updated as material is added to the collection.
Legal history or the history of law is the study of how law has evolved and why it has changed. It is closely connected to the development of civilizations and is part of the broader context of social history.
We have many resources in different formats (online, print and microform) for Canadian and British legal history. Check the History databases as well as the legal ones.
Examples include trials involving Dred Scott, John Peter Zenger, Susan B. Anthony, Oscar Wilde, the Boston Massacre, Lizzie Borden, Sacco and Vanzetti, Leopold and Loeb, the impeachment of Andrew Johnson, the Bounty mutineers, Salem witchcraft, Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette, Aaron Burr, John Brown and Alfred Dreyfus. Includes full text of books and pamphlets and other documents, and subjects covered include adultery, commercial law, conspiracy, constitutional law, crimes against persons, domestic relations, dueling, elections, impeachment, international law, land, libel, military offenses, murder, slavery, theft, torts, treason and wills. In addition to works pertaining to English-speaking jurisdictions such as the United States, Britain, Ireland and Canada, English-language titles about trials in other jurisdictions such as France are included. Books encompassing multiple trials are included as well as books about a single trial. Books about general trial procedures, legal doctrines and advocacy methods are excluded, as are books about crimes not resulting in trials.