Sector Info. / News - SMO 438/637 - Managing Public, Not-For-Profit Organizations - Subject Guides at University of Alberta Libraries

Volunteer Sector

Volunteer Canada
Sections include Research and Policy (data on the Canadian volunteer landscape, reports & tools), and Engaging Volunteers (Canadian Code for Volunteer Involvement, volunteer screening & management).
General Social Survey: Giving, Volunteering and Participating (Statistics Canada)
Data on unpaid volunteer activities, charitable giving and participation.
Data is available through Statistics Canada (CANSIM tables tab) and odesi (search term: giving, volunteering and participating)
Volunteering and donating (Statistics Canada)

Current News

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window Includes articles on news items for the non-profit sector, & other Canadian charities. Search for key words including non-profit organizations, public administration, nongovernmental organizations, provincial government AND finance, civil service & public sector.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers articles from issues of Canadian newspapers on non-profit sector, provides timely information on trends, challenges & opportunities.
Coverage extends to a large number of newspapers, including the following:
- Calgary Herald (December 7, 1988- )
- Edmonton Journal (March 10, 1989- )
- Financial Post (January 5, 1985 - October 1998)
- Globe and Mail (November 14, 1977 -)
- Regina Leader Post (January 1, 2000 - )
- Montreal Gazette (January 2, 1985- )
- National Post (October 27, 1998- )
- Ottawa Citizen (September 3, 1985- )
- St. Catharines Standard (October 1, 1997- )
- Saskatoon Star Phoenix (May 27, 1996- )
- Vancouver Province (March 20, 1989- )
- Vancouver Sun (January 2, 1987- )
- Victoria Times Colonist (January 4, 1993- )
- Windsor Star (October 20, 1986- )
Contains text in English and French / Français.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers newswires & newspapers from around the globe, useful for broad perspective on current state of international non-profit sector.
Factiva also provides American congressional committee hearings, publications of selected U.S. government departments and agencies,The Federal Register and state laws and regulations, publications of U.S. government watchdog organizations, and selected international government publications.