The first issue of Red Rising Education; includes poems, essays, stories, and art, curated for the Red Rising education units; Identity, Community, Land and Water, and Resistance. Includes units 1 and 2 with lesson plans.
This list contains Cree language and culture resources that have been authorized for use in
Alberta schools. Alberta Education selects and authorizes the best possible instructional
materials for the implementation of approved programs of study. The resource authorization
categories are student basic, student support or teaching, and the status is noted for each
This resource was developed in collaboration with the Aboriginal Learning Services department of Edmonton Catholic Schools. The resource provides information about First Nations, Métis and Inuit (FNMI) cultures and perspectives, and sample strategies for meeting the needs and recognizing the gifts of FNMI students.
The first of its kind in Canada, the Prairie Indigenous eBook Collection increases access to books by Indigenous authors and writings about Indigenous culture. Over two hundred eBooks published on the prairies are available to all Albertans, with no holds, through the province’s public library systems. (Text from readalberta.ca.) U of A staff and students can access EPL services including ebooks (regardless of geographic location) with the L-Pass.
This teacher’s resource guide provides a variety of activities to help young readers (Grades 2 to 5)
discover and appreciate the cultural importance of the buffalo to the Indigenous people
of the Plains. The proposed exercises were chosen to permit students to understand
better the importance and place occupied by the venerable buffalo in the culture of the
Plains Cree people.
Indigenous peoples are diverse, within and across nations. However, the Indigenous peoples have experienced colonisation processes that have undermined Indigenous young people’s access to their identity, language and culture. Published by OECD.
This website provides support for all levels within school jurisdictions to increase awareness, understanding and application of First Nations, Métis and Inuit histories, perspectives and ways of knowing for the purpose of implementing treaty and residential schools education and Truth and Reconciliation Commission Calls to Action for education.
This foundational knowledge about First Nations, Métis and Inuit is critical for teachers, school leaders and education stakeholders to understand and apply new ways of knowing necessary to advance reconciliation and shift thinking and attitudes. It will also help to ensure the education system continues to build capacity to include First Nations, Métis and Inuit perspectives in the classroom and curriculum.
In May 1998, the Inuvialuit Cultural Resource Centre (now the Inuvialuit Cultural Centre) opened as a regional centre in Tuktoyaktuk with the following mandate:
- Preserve the Inuvialuktun language with the assistance of elders.
- Provide support and a language curriculum for Inuvialuktun teachers.
- Promote the on-going development of the Inuvialuktun language.
Teaching Indigenous History & Culture (FNMI) / Indigenizing Instruction
Alberta Education and others are providing teachers with lesson plans to help bring First Nations, Métis and Inuit history and contributions to life in classrooms across the province.
Understanding and Finding Our Way – Decolonizing Canadian EducationAll Canadians are responsible for reconciliation. Teachers have a unique opportunity to contribute by advocating for change to eliminate inequity and racism. Understanding and Finding Our Way – Decolonizing Canadian Education is a powerful film that exposes education inequities within public education in Canada. It challenges viewers to help decolonize education so that all students can succeed.
The film was produced by Dr. Verna St. Denis, an internationally renowned scholar in anti-racist education. It was directed by award-winning filmmaker Alison Duke following appropriate protocols and under the guidance of Elder Mary Lee. The 32-minute film is divided into three parts.
As you infuse diverse, inclusive, and culturally relevant materials into fiction and nonfiction reading experiences, this toolkit helps analyze collections, identify and bring to life diverse texts, and encourage reflection on cultural representation.
“The previous edition of the collection was released in 2018 and contains 100 picture books by First Nations, Métis, and Inuit authors and illustrators. The 2018 edition of the catalogue is also available for download.” (Text from IBBY Canada website.)
Interactive web resource designed to assist educators with weaving Indigenous ways of knowing, being, and doing into their teaching and learning, starting with story. Audience: preservice and professional teachers.
The annotated listings provided in this guide identify currently available authentic First Peoples texts that students can work with to meet educational standards related to literacy as well as a variety of specific subject areas.
The narrative comments along with the annotated bibliographies and related reading lists, explanations, interpretations, and suggestions are meant to encourage teachers to find their own voice in teaching Aboriginal literatures, engage in a dialogue with these texts, and bring in their own background.
Our book lists showcase the diversity of Native children’s books. Arranged by topic and age category, the lists are intended to introduce readers and educators to Native books they may not have known about.