Skip to Main Content

Identifying Appropriate Journals for Publication

Determine which databases index a specific journal

To increase the chances of having your publications viewed by others, make sure the journal is included in the major databases of your subject discipline. Most databases provide a list of journals indexed.  
 

Check for inclusion of your journal in one or more of the following journal lists: ​​​​​

CAB Abstracts Journal Coverage Click on the links to see lists.
CINAHL Journal Coverage See "Title List" along the left-hand navigation.
Clarivate Analytics (Web of Science) Master Journal List Includes links to the lists for the following databases: Web of Science Core Collection, Biological AbstractsBIOSIS PreviewsZoological Record, and Current Contents Connect, as well as the Chemical Information products.
MLA (Modern Language Association) Directory of Periodicals

The MLA Directory of Periodicals is a searchable listing of publication information about the journals included in the MLA Bibliography. It is searchable by keyword or subject, to discover which journals exist about particular topics.  

National Library of Medicine Catalog: List of Journals Referenced in NCBI Databases Includes journals indexed in PubMed/MEDLINE.
PsycInfo Journal Coverage List     

To locate a journal coverage list for other databases, Google "journal list name of database," e.g. journal list Philosopher's Index. Most databases will allow you to search by journal name if you are unable to find a journal coverage list for the database in which you are interested.

Ulrich's Global Periodical Directory

Ulrich's Global Periodical Directory is an excellent resource to use for identifying databases that cover a journal you are considering to submit your paper. It lists the abstracting and indexing information and indicates whether a journal is peer-reviewed/refereed. This saves you from having to search journal coverage lists in each database you think might possibly cover a journal.


Search for your journal title in Ulrich's and click on the title link to locate the Abstracting & Indexing information for that journal.

Ask us! We're here to help!

Profile Photo
Public Service Team John W. Scott Library
Contact:
J. W. Scott Health Sciences Library
WMC2K3.28
jwsinfo@ualberta.ca
780.492.7947