Alberta Education Authorized Learning Resources Database
To find what textbooks are being used in Alberta K-12 classrooms use the:
Alberta Education Authorized Learning Resources Database (ALRD)
Finding Authorized Learning Resources Tutorial
By the end of this tutorial, you will be able to:
- Define an Authorized Resource
- Determine which textbooks are used in Alberta K-12 classrooms
- Identify additional authorized resources used
- Find authorized resources within the University of Alberta Library
Click on the image below to start the tutorial; you will require sound.
First Nations, Metis and Inuit Teacher Resources
High interest Aboriginal theme book strategiesCall Number: LB 1575 S59 2009
- Cree language and culture kindergarten to grade 12 : Alberta authorized resource list and annotated bibliographyThis list contains Cree language and culture resources that have been authorized for use in
Alberta schools. Alberta Education selects and authorizes the best possible instructional
materials for the implementation of approved programs of study. The resource authorization
categories are student basic, student support or teaching, and the status is noted for each
resource. - Our Words, Our Ways: Teaching First Nations, Métis and Inuit LearnersThis resource was developed in collaboration with the Aboriginal Learning Services department of Edmonton Catholic Schools. The resource provides information about First Nations, Métis and Inuit (FNMI) cultures and perspectives, and sample strategies for meeting the needs and recognizing the gifts of FNMI students.
- Prairie Indigenous Ebook Collection (via Edmonton Public Library)The first of its kind in Canada, the Prairie Indigenous eBook Collection increases access to books by Indigenous authors and writings about Indigenous culture. Over two hundred eBooks published on the prairies are available to all Albertans, with no holds, through the province’s public library systems. (Text from readalberta.ca.)
U of A staff and students can access EPL services including ebooks (regardless of geographic location) with the L-Pass. - Edmonton Public Library Indigenous CollectionThe Aboriginal Collection at EPL focuses on materials written, performed and/or produced by Aboriginal Peoples.
- Walking TogetherFirst Nations, Metis and Inuit perspectives in Curriculum.
- The Virtual Museum of Metis History and CultureGabrielle Dumont Institute of Native Studies and Research
- Four Directions TeachingsFour Directions Teachings is a visually stunning audio narrated resource for learning about indigenous knowledge and philosophy from five diverse First Nations in Canada.
- 100 Years of Loss TimelineResidential Schools History and Information
- Teacher's Resource Guide for Honouring the Buffalo: A Plains Cree LegendThis teacher’s resource guide provides a variety of activities to help young readers (Grades 2 to 5)
discover and appreciate the cultural importance of the buffalo to the Indigenous people
of the Plains. The proposed exercises were chosen to permit students to understand
better the importance and place occupied by the venerable buffalo in the culture of the
Plains Cree people. - Deepening KnowledgeInfusing Aboriginal Perspectives into Your Teaching Practice. University of Toronto.
- First Nations, Métis and Inuit PlaylistEducational & Curriculum Video. McIntyre Media Inc.
- Promising Practices in Supporting Success for Indigenous StudentsIndigenous peoples are diverse, within and across nations. However, the Indigenous peoples have experienced colonisation processes that have undermined Indigenous young people’s access to their identity, language and culture. Published by OECD.
- Native-Land.cainteractive map allows you to see what the languages, traditional territories, and treaties in an area.
- Empowering the Spirit: Educational Resources to Support ReconciliationThis website provides support for all levels within school jurisdictions to increase awareness, understanding and application of First Nations, Métis and Inuit histories, perspectives and ways of knowing for the purpose of implementing treaty and residential schools education and Truth and Reconciliation Commission Calls to Action for education.
- Alberta Education: Applying Foundational KnowledgeThis foundational knowledge about First Nations, Métis and Inuit is critical for teachers, school leaders and education stakeholders to understand and apply new ways of knowing necessary to advance reconciliation and shift thinking and attitudes. It will also help to ensure the education system continues to build capacity to include First Nations, Métis and Inuit perspectives in the classroom and curriculum.
- FNMI EdukitsFNMI artifacts, clothing, traditional foods, examples of modes of transportation, & games - all mini sized. Includes recorded music, too.
- Rupert's Land Teaching and Learning Resourcesesson plans designed to support and build Alberta educators’ competency to meet the new Alberta Teacher Quality Standard.
- Inuvialuit Digital LibraryIncludes Text, Audio, Video, Image, and Language
Collections from the Inuvialuit Cultural Centre.
First Nations, Metis and Inuit Children's Books
- Diverse Books Toolkit (TeachingBooks)As you infuse diverse, inclusive, and culturally relevant materials into fiction and nonfiction reading experiences, this toolkit helps analyze collections, identify and bring to life diverse texts, and encourage reflection on cultural representation.
- Children’s and young adult books about residential schoolsThis list is a starting point to discovering resources on the topic of residential schools for children and young adults.
- From Sea to Sea to Sea: Celebrating Indigenous Picture Books2021 Edition - 25 of the best Indigenous picture books published in Canada between 2018–2020 were selected for this collection.
- Books to Build On: Indigenous Literatures for LearningInteractive web resource designed to assist educators with weaving Indigenous ways of knowing, being, and doing into their teaching and learning, starting with story. Audience: preservice and professional teachers.
- FNESC - Authentic First Peoples Resources for Use in K-9 ClassroomsThe annotated listings provided in this guide identify currently available authentic First Peoples texts that students can work with to meet educational standards related to literacy as well as a variety of specific subject areas.
- Hear Our Stories: Celebrating First nations, Metis & Inuit LiteratureBook Week 2015 Theme Guide. Each annotation provides age ranges and grade levels recommending the suggested audience for each book.
- K-12 Infusing Indigenous Texts in the Classroom - Annotated BooklistsAnnotated book lists from the Alberta Regional Professional Development Consortia (ARPDC) featuring recommended titles for students in our local context.
- Taanishi series - Metis Language and CultureLeveled reading series featuring the Michif language and culture for elementary readers.
- Under One Sun SeriesInvites Kindergarten-Grade 8 students and teachers to connect with Indigenous history, culture and perspectives. See the website: https://school.nelson.com/under-one-sun/
- Aboriginal-Themed Books for Kids & TeensCanadian Children's Book Centre themed list.
- Aboriginal Literatures in Canada: A Teacher’s Resource GuideThe narrative comments along with the annotated bibliographies and related reading lists, explanations, interpretations, and suggestions are meant to encourage teachers to find their own voice in teaching Aboriginal literatures, engage in a dialogue with these texts, and bring in their own background.
- Indigenous Reads Rising - Book ListsOur book lists showcase the diversity of Native children’s books. Arranged by topic and age category, the lists are intended to introduce readers and educators to Native books they may not have known about.
Teaching Indigenous History & Culture (FNMI) / Indigenizing Instruction
Alberta Education and others are providing teachers with lesson plans to help bring First Nations, Métis and Inuit history and contributions to life in classrooms across the province.
- Sample Lesson Plans from Learn AlbertaIncludes samples for ELA, Art, Science and Social
- Understanding and Finding Our Way – Decolonizing Canadian Education All Canadians are responsible for reconciliation. Teachers have a unique opportunity to contribute by advocating for change to eliminate inequity and racism. Understanding and Finding Our Way – Decolonizing Canadian Education is a powerful film that exposes education inequities within public education in Canada. It challenges viewers to help decolonize education so that all students can succeed. The film was produced by Dr. Verna St. Denis, an internationally renowned scholar in anti-racist education. It was directed by award-winning filmmaker Alison Duke following appropriate protocols and under the guidance of Elder Mary Lee. The 32-minute film is divided into three parts.
- Secret Path Lesson PlansFrom The Manitoba Teachers' Society.
- Lesson Plans - Rupertsland InstituteRLI’s Education Team has developed engaging lesson plans based on the Five Foundational Knowledge Themes.
- Stories of DecolonizationStories of Decolonization is a multi-film interview-based documentary project that shares personal stories in order to explore accessible understandings of colonialism and its continued impact on those living on the lands now called Canada. It also explores notions and actions of decolonization.