Subject Guides: Economics: International Statistics

International Economic Statistics

World Development Indicators
Also known as: |WDI Online| This is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

IMF data (International Monetary Fund)
Links to all IMF datasets including International Financial Statistics, World Economic Outlook, Balance of Payments, Direction of Trade Statistics and Government Finance Statistics.

Statista
This interdisciplinary database provides access to statistics for hundreds of industries, along with colourful infographics for download. Also included are Surveys, Country Reports, Industry Reports, and Market Outlooks, Reports and Studies.
Global Financial Data This link opens in a new window
Global Financial Data includes two databases: US Stocks and GFDatabase. US Stocks includes historical price data for individual current and delisted stocks from every US exchange. The GFDatabase consists of macro level financial data covering one or a multitude of asset classes.
OECD iLibrary
The OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
EMIS This link opens in a new window
EMIS includes country profiles, macroeconomic statistics, economic forecasts and analysis, industry market research reports from various sources like Mordor Intelligence, Mira Inform and Renub Research, company and financial market reports, analyst reports and business news. To access the institutional log in for this database, click "Client Log In" in the top right corner.
Datastream This link opens in a new window
Current and historical financial and economic time series data.
Access restricted to current UA faculty, staff and students.
Registered Users: click on the Access Database button above
New Users: click here to register
Use of Workspace for Students, and its two add-on modules (Datastream, After Market Research) is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Alberta. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use these products for individual, non-commercial, educational, or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
This product requires individual registration with a University of Alberta email address.
PLEASE NOTE: Due to limits on the number of concurrent registrations, all user accounts will be removed following the end of each academic term. Any user requiring access for an additional term will need to re-register.
To register: follow these instructions
Recommended browser: The LSEG platform is optimized for use on the Chrome browser
Restrictions on use:
- For Datastream: downloading is limited to a maximum of 10 million data points per calendar month
- For Research Analyst Reports (After Market Research): viewing, printing and downloading is limited to 150 pages per user, per 24 hour period
- For Research Analyst Reports: viewing, printing and downloading is also limited to a report value limit of $2,000 per user, per calendar year, based on the commercial value of individual reports. PLEASE NOTE: There is no actual cost generated for users.
Desktop Version: U of A students, faculty, and staff are permitted to download the desktop versions of Workspace for Students, Datastream, and Aftermarket Research. PLEASE NOTE: U of A Library staff and Campus IT staff cannot provide technical support for the desktop versions. For technical support, use the contact links below.
Training materials:
- LSEG Academy Learning Centre
- How to find Aftermarket Reports in LSEG Data & Analytics
Technical support:
- Call the LSEG helpdesk: 1-800-738-8377
- LSEG Support

World Bank Open Data
Global development data including World Development Indicators, International Debt Statistics.
UNCTADstat
Free market commodity prices for selected commodities exported by developing economies. Annual, monthly.
United Nations Economic and Social Commissions - Statistics
Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE)
Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)
Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA)
Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)
globalEDGE (Michigan State University)
Statistics by country and trading block. Also includes a Global Resource Directory.
Eurostat
Key economic statistics from European Union member states.
Data (Inter-American Development Bank-IDB)
Data by country or topic
Data and statistics (Asian Development Bank - ADB)
The ADB Data Library is the central repository and portal for all of ADB's public data
Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web (US Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Links to national statistical agencies.

Economic Forecast

Economist Intelligence Unit: EIU Viewpoint
Risk briefing and global forecasting service
EMIS This link opens in a new window
Select Client Login > Country Analysis > Consensus Forecast
Fitch Connect
Also known as: |BMI Research|Business Monitor International
To access Fitch Connect
- Click on the “Access Database” button above
- Click on “SSO”
- Enter “universityofalberta” (not case-sensitive) as the Organization ID
- Click on “Continue” and this will redirect you to the CCID login page to verify your credentials
- Log in with your CCID
- Select the “Terms of Use” and “Privacy Policy”
- Click “Accept” to access the database

World Outlook. Economic forecast (Conference Board of Canada: Reports)
Published quarterly.