Specific/Focused Collections
- AAPG Datapages Archives Archive of AAPG (American Association of Petroleum Geologists) publications.
- Lyell Collection Lyell Collection (from 1845 to the present) published by the Geological Society of London includes the Geological Society's Special Publications and the book series Engineering Geology Special Publications and Geological Society Memoirs.
- GEOSCAN This resource is a bibliographic database containing records covering all the publications of the Geological Survey of Canada. Contributions by GSC staff to external publications have been included since 1986.
- Geologic Guidebooks of North America This database is a tool for identifying geologic field trip guidebooks issued by societies, universities, geological surveys, etc., especially those related to North America. The database is maintained by American Geological Institute's GeoRef Information Services in cooperation with the Geoscience Information Society. It is based on the Union List of Geologic Field Trip Guidebooks of North America.
Evaluating Information
Use the CRAAP Test
Currency - Is it timely?
Relevance - Useful for your purposes?
Authority - Who? What is the source?
Accuracy - References to back it up?
Purpose - Why? Is there a bias?
More detailed information on the CRAAP Test
Library Lab Notes
Databases for Finding Articles
Earth and Atmospheric Science Databases
- GeoRefGeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences, references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
- Environment CompleteCovers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning.
- Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science CollectionAn interdisciplinary index to publications, with some full text content. Includes content from Meteorological & Geophysical Abstracts, Water Resources Abstracts, and ASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts.
- GeoScienceWorldA comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Web of Science Core CollectionMultidisciplinary database containing scholarly articles and research metrics tools.
- ScopusMultidisciplinary database with over 16,500 titles - especially strong in science, engineering, technology, and medicine.
