Dictionaries & Glossaries
A Dictionary of Geography
Containing over 3,100 entries on all aspects of both human and physical geography, this best-selling dictionary is the most authoritative single-volume reference work of its kind. It includes coverage of cartography, surveying, meteorology, climatology, ecology, population, industry, anddevelopment. Worked examples and diagrams are provided for many entries, including 15 new illustrations.All existing entries have been fully revised and updated for this new edition, and there is now expanded coverage of Geographical Information Systems (GIS), and glacial geomorphology, as well as the inclusion of more international examples within definitions, broadening its coverage considerably.The dictionary includes more than 400 new entries, including economies of scope, marginalization, rurality, and tax havens and offshore financial centres. Recommended web links are suggested for many entries, accessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Geography companion website.Packed with clear, concise, and authoritative information, this A-Z reference is an essential companion for all students and teachers of geography.
A Dictionary of Weather
An authoritative and wide-ranging new edition of A Dictionary of Weather containing almost 2,000 entries on all areas of the subject. Provides clear definitions and illustrative examples of terminology taken from meteorology, forecasting, and climatology. Revised and fully updated, thisedition includes 300 new and revised entries, such as A-Train, Pineapple Express, and Watermelon snow, and added feature entries highlighting actual occurrences of extreme weather, including the Indian Ocean Tsunami and Hurricane Katrina. Generously illustrated, and containting recommended websitesfor further reading, this reference work is thoroughly comprehensible.Find out where and when the world's largest hailstone fell or where the highest temperature was recorded using the list of weather records, and check climate data for different weather types from around the world. Key terms from the related fields of oceanography, hydrology, and climatology are alsocovered as well as biographical information on important people in the development of meteorology. Arranged in A-Z format, it is a unique dictionary and an essential reference source for meteorology and geography students, whether at school or university, as well as for amateur meteorologists andthe general reader.
Glossary of Geology by ISBN: 9781680151787
Key Collections
- AAPG Datapages ArchivesArchive of AAPG (American Association of Petroleum Geologists) publications.
- Lyell Collection
Includes access to Geological Society (London) Special Publications from Vol 1, 1964, and to all other content from 2008 through 2020. Beginning in 2021, Geological Society journals are available on the GeoScienceWorld platform
- The National Academies PressAccess to downloadable e-Books in Agriculture, Engineering & Science.
- Springer Nature Link (formerly SpringerLink)SpringerLink provides access to the fulltext of books and journals from Springer-Verlag and associated publishers. SpringerLink publications cover life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics.
- Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel contains engineering-focused reference works and textbooks. Users can find data hidden in tables, graphs, and equations. Includes interactive tables, equation plotters, charts and graphs that can be manipulated and exported into other tools such as Excel.
- Wageningen eBooksThis is an ebook collection focusing on topics in Animal and Veterinary, Food and Health, Agribusiness and Rural Studies, Agriculture and Environment. There are also multiple ejournals. Wageningen Academic is part of Brill.
- Taylor & Francis eBooksPlease note Taylor & Francis eBooks may not be available from off-campus. We are working with the vendor to resolve the access problems. Please contact the library for an alternate access route. Taylor & Francis eBooks now include the CRC Press ebook collections (formerly CRCnetBASE).
Encyclopedias
The International Encyclopedia of Geography: People, the Earth, Environment, and Technology
Representing the definitive reference work for this broad and dynamic field, The International Encyclopedia of Geography arises from an unprecedented collaboration between Wiley and the American Association of Geographers (AAG) to review and define the concepts, research, and techniques in geography and interrelated fields. Available as a robust online resource and as a 15-volume full-color print set, the Encyclopedia assembles a truly global group of scholars for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world. Contains more than 1,000 entries ranging from 1,000 to 10,000 words offering accessible introductions to basic concepts, sophisticated explanations of complex topics, and information on geographical societies around the world Assembles a truly global group of more than 900 scholars hailing from over 40 countries, for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world Provides definitive coverage of the field, encompassing human geography, physical geography, geographic information science and systems, earth studies, and environmental science Brings together interdisciplinary perspectives on geographical topics and techniques of interest across the social sciences, humanities, science, and medicine Features full color throughout the print version and more than 1,000 illustrations and photographs Annual updates to online edition
Reference module in earth systems and environmental sciences
This new online Reference Module allows you to search and access the complete full-text content of 19 encyclopedias and major reference works in Earth Systems and Environmental Science from Elsevier. These titles represent over 140 volumes in print, and the module will feature regular content updates.
Several of these titles are new to the UofA Libraries:
Comprehensive Biotechnology (2nd ed.)
Comprehensive Renewable Energy
Climate Vulnerability
Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences (2nd ed.)
Encyclopedia of Ecology
Encyclopedia of Energy
Encyclopedia of Energy, Natural Resource, and
Environmental Economics
Encyclopedia of Environmental Health
Encyclopedia of Geology
Encyclopedia of Inland Waters
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences (2nd ed.)
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology (3rd ed.)
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science (2nd ed.)
Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment
Treatise on Estuarine and Coastal Science
Treatise on Geochemistry (2nd ed.)
Treatise on Geomorphology
Treatise on Geophysics
Treatise on Water Science
Encyclopedia of Geobiology
Includes the 10 most recent volumes in this series from Springer:
Encyclopedia of Remote Sensing
Encyclopedia of Natural Hazards
Encyclopedia of Lakes and Reservoirs
Encyclopedia of Modern Coral Reefs
Encyclopedia of Geobiology
Encyclopedia of Snow, Ice and Glaciers
Encyclopedia of Agrophysics
Encyclopedia of Solid Earth Geophysics
Encyclopedia of Paleoclimatology
and Ancient Environments
Encyclopedia of Soil Science
Encyclopedia of Coastal Science
Encyclopedia of World Climatology
Encyclopedia of Hydrological Sciences
Written and edited by global authorities in the field and comprising approximately 200 substantial articles, the Encyclopedia provides detailed, expert coverage of the subject. Organized into 17 themed parts for the reader’s convenience, it offers scientifically rigorous information on all key aspects of the subject, from sub-catchment to the global scale.
Written by over 200 contributors
Ideal for researchers in both academia and industry
Clear diagrams and tables
Cross references throughout
