Skip to main content


Other Standards Databases

CSA (Canadian Standards Association) Standards via Edmonton Public Library

US Government Standards


This guide provides selective resources available through the Internet or at the University of Alberta for Standards. Any questions, comments or suggestions about Standards resources should be directed to the Engineering Librarian, Randy Reichardt (contact info to the right).


List of Available Standards on IHS Standards Expert Database

IHS Standards Expert 

The IHS Standards Expert is a database that incorporates a very extensive collection of industry standards. Bibliographic information for over 1.2 million standards from approximately 450 Standards Developing Organizations (SDOs) throughout the world is included. The UAL provides full-text access to over 76,000 standards from the organisations listed below via the IHS db. To restrict your search to the full-text of standards to which we provide access, when you begin your search, ensure that the "My Subscription" box is checked.   

Please note that you must have a valid CCID and PW in order to use this database, which is restricted to members of the University of Alberta community only.

  • API - American Petroleum Institute (includes historical)
  • ASHRAE - American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning Engineers
  • ASME - American Society of Mechanical Engineers (includes historical)
  • ASME BPVC - ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (non-nuclear only)
  • ASTM International (includes historical from 2007-present)
  • AWS - American Welding Society
  • CSA - Canadian Standards Association (includes historical)
  • GPA - Gas Processors Association
  • IEEE - Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers
  • ISA - Instrumentation, Systems and Automation Society
  • ISO - International Organization for Standardization
  • NACE - National Association of Corrosion Engineers
  • NFPA - National Fire Protection Association
  • SAE-J - Society of Automotive Engineers - Ground Vehicle Standards
  • TAPPI - Technical Association of the Pulp and Paper Industry

Please note that access to the full-text of AWS and CSA standards requires the installation of the FileOpen plug-in.

Subject Librarian

Randy Reichardt
1-54 Cameron Library.

In ICE 10-391 every Tuesday and Thursday from 1300-1600 hrs during term.

Selected Print Holdings of Superseded ANSI Standards in the Science and Technology Library