CSA (Canadian Standards Association) Standards via Edmonton Public Library
- CSA Standards via EPLAre you a member of Edmonton Public Library? If so, in addition to accessing CSA standards via the OnDemand platform, you can also access the full-text of standards from the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) via the EPL website.
US Government Standards
- ASSIST Quick Search (U.S.) Quick Search is a public website that lets users search for U.S. defense and federal specifications and standards, military handbooks, commercial item descriptions, data item descriptions, MS detail drawings, Qualified Product Lists (QPLs), and related technical documents prepared in accordance with the policies and procedures of the Defense Standardization Program (DSP)
- EverySpec EverySpec provides free access to over 50,000 U.S. Military, DoD, Federal, NASA, DOE, and Government specifications, standards, handbooks, and publications. This data warehouse includes standardization documents with the designations of MIL, MIL-STD, MIL-PRF, MIL-DTL, FED, CID, JANS, MS, AND, USAF, DID, CID, UCF, and FIPS, including their Amendments, Notices, and Supplements
List of Available Standards
The University of Alberta Library subscribes to a number of standards collections to meet the needs of our students and researchers. If you need a standard that is not included in these subscriptions, and that we have not already purchased (search the catalogue to check), you can fill out the Recommend a Purchase form to request the item.
If you don’t know whether or not there is a standard related to your project, you can use Accuris (formerly IHS Standards) or TechStreet to search for standards by keyword, then consult this list to determine whether we have access to the standards you find.
- ASHRAE Standards This link opens in a new window
Full text standards from the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning Engineers
- ASME Standards This link opens in a new window
This collection of full text standards from the American Society Of Mechanical Engineers also includes ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (BPVC) Sections VIII & IX
- AWS (American Welding Society) Standards This link opens in a new windowThis collection of full text standards from the American Welding Society is available on the ASTM Compass platform
- CSA (Canadian Standards Association) Standards This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to the full text of all standards published by the Canadian Standards Association. NOTE RE: OFF CAMPUS ACCESS: Full text PDFs may be viewed, but not downloaded, when accessing this database from off campus
- ISO Standards (International Organization for Standardization) This link opens in a new windowThis database requires you to create an individual login. ISO Standards are licensed for only one concurrent user
- NACE Standards This link opens in a new window
Full text standards from the National Association of Corrosion Engineers
- NFPA (National Fire Protection Association) Standards This link opens in a new windowFree, view-only access to these standards is available from the NFPA website. Registration is required via the Sign In link.
- SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new windowSAE-J Standards are available via the SAE Mobilus platform
Subject Librarian
Print Holdings of Superseded ANSI Standards
- University of Alberta Library Standards ArchiveUniversity of Alberta Library maintains a collection of superseded ANSI and ANSI-approved standards at the Research & Collections Research Facility. Use this finding aid to locate the standard you need, then place your request by box number. Items can be viewed at RCRF or in the Special Collections Library.