Smaller collections to search
Try simple searches in these, such as: cattle behavior, livestock diseases
- Animal Health and Production CompendiumThe Animal Health and Production Compendium draws together scientific information on all aspects of animal health and production. It includes information on diseases, breeds, nutrition, husbandry and treatment of livestock and poultry.
- AGRIS: International Information System for the Agricultural Sciences and TechnologyIncludes literature dealing with all aspect of agriculture from participating countries around the world
Articles
Find articles, book chapters, conference papers, and other types of scholarly writing for your research. Try searches such as:
- ( "farm animal*" or livestock ) AND behav*
- (behav* or habit* or character* or temperament) AND (cattle or beef or cow or cows or bovine or calf or calves) AND (farm*)
- (train* or teach or learn* or instruct* or coach* or condition*) NEAR/3 (cattle or beef or cow or cows or bovine or calf or calves)
- CAB AbstractsIncludes international coverage of all aspects of agriculture, horticulture, animal production and forestry.
- Zoological RecordIncludes systematic and taxonomic information for 27 animal groups including Mammalia, Aves, Reptilia, Amphibia, Pisces, Protochordata, Hemiptera, Insecta, Crustacea, and Protozoa. Topics include taxonomy, physiology, morphology, parasitology, biochemistry, biophysics, evolution, ecology, genetics, behavior, biometrics, communication, disease, habitat, histology, immunology, life cycle and development, locomotion, nomenclature, techniques, and zoogeography.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Web of Science - All DatabasesA major multidisciplinary database for the sciences and the social sciences, as well as a great research metrics tool. Cab abstracts and Zoological Record are both included in this search (along with many more).
- Academic Search CompleteIncludes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities.
Ask us! We're here to help.
Library Lab Notes
Check out the science library podcast, Library Lab Notes. It provides insight into all things Science information literacy from staff you may recognize.