Web Archiving + Archive-It

Archive-It is a web archiving platform (connected to the Wayback Machine) used by libraries, archives, and other organizations to preserve and provide access to web content. The hierarchical organization of the Archive-It website allows users to search or browse across all archived content or narrow the scope to a particular organization or collection. 

Access Archive-It

Note: Some preserved websites may have incomplete captures due to technical limitations. Researchers or community members interested in working with our collections, or making web archiving recommendations, are encouraged to contact us: webarch@ualberta.ca.

From the Archive-It Explore Page, you can search and browse preserved web content, but results depend on the tab you’ve selected.

• Collecting Organizations tab: Find organizations who create collections in Archive-It 
  • e.g., University of Alberta or Library and Archives Canada
• Collections tab: Find Archive-It collections
  • e.g., Circumpolar Collection or Western Canadian Arts 
• Sites tab: Find individual preserved sites 
  • e.g., Alberta Energy Regulator or CKUA Sound Archives
• Search Page Text tab: Search the full-text content of archived sites
  • e.g., A search for Glaciers in Circumpolar Collection

After arriving on the explore page, select the appropriate tab, and browse the list below or enter a search in the box above the tabs. If results aren’t what you expect, double-check which tab you’re using.

• Use quotation marks around specific keywords or phrases for more precise results.
• Explore the search result limiters to refine large results.
• Check the capture date range to find materials from a particular time period.

• Results are grouped by Collecting Organizations, Collections, Sites, and Search Page Text. 
• Use facets (filters) on the left side of the page to narrow results.
• Click on a result’s URL to open the archived page in the Wayback Calendar and view its archived page.