Finding Biographical Information
There are numerous places where information about artists' lives can exist.
The Oxford Art Online collection is one a you can start. Also consider encyclopedias, biographies, autobiographies and museum and artist websites.
- Oxford Art Online Also known as: Grove Dictionary of Art| Grove Art Online| This database contains articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts, and photography from prehistory to the present day. There are peer-reviewed articles with supporting materials including bibliographies, media, and links to related resources. The search engine has options to refine by source, type, subject, and availability.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window This database contains instructional and educational streaming videos from sources such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences and Cambridge Educational in addition to a number of news outlets such as PBS, CNBC, and National Geographic.
Information about some artists' lives, particularly more prominent ones, can be found in a biographical, or autobiographical, book. You can also find films about various artists via Films on Demand.
To find books about an artist, use the main search box on the library homepage. Before you perform your search, click "Advanced Search," which will take you to a page with more search options. There, type the artist's name into the search box and change the drop-down menu to "Subject." This will bring you a list of publications in which the artist is the subject of the book.