Feedback? Questions? Ask Us!
Articles & More
The Search the Library box is a great place to search for articles and books on your topic. For a narrower search, use one or more of these more focused databases to find journal articles and more. For even more databases, see the A-Z List of databases for Environmental Sciences / Studies.
Peer Review
Many library databases allow you to limit search results to peer-reviewed articles. If you need to check whether a journal has a peer review process, search for its title in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory and look for the little referee symbol: 
Background Information
Are you looking for an overview of a particular environmental issue or a definition of a term? These are examples of the types of information you can find using the resources below. For more resources, visit Background Reference Resources.
-
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues (3rd ed., 2019)This encyclopedia covers a wide range of subjects related to environmental issues—such as biology, geology, anthropology, demographics, genetics, and engineering—and explains how these areas are connected in clear, easy-to-understand language.
-
A Dictionary of Environmental History (2013)This resource has almost 1,000 entries on key terms, events, places, dates, topics, and major figures in the field, ranging from brief facts to longer essays on important issues.
-
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (eLS)
A monthly-updating reference work containing thousands of specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles written by leaders in the field. It offers comprehensive and authoritative coverage of the life sciences for students, lecturers and researchers alike.