Ask Us
Books-in-print & National Bibliographies
National bibliographies are produced by national libraries throughout the world through the process of legal deposit. By enlisting and disseminating bibliographic information about the publishing activities of and about a nation or a country, national bibliographies both represent and preserve the public record of a nation's or country's recorded knowledge.
Books-in-print type databases provide information about books that are currently available for acquisition. Unlike national bibliographies, they usually include publications in a particular language, rather than publications issued in or about a particular country. Global Books in Print covers all English-speaking countries, while its German equivalent, Verzeichnis Lieferbarer Bücher, covers all German-speaking countries. Libros en venta en América Latina y España covers all Spanish and Portugese speaking countries.
Please consult the Databases tab to see the list of online national bibliographies and books-in-print databases arranged alphabetically by title.
Please consult the Alphabetical list by country to see all national bibliographic holdings in online and/or print format at the University of Alberta Library.
National Bibliographies & Books in print - Alphabetical list by country
- National Bibliographic Register (IFLA) The following profiles have been contributed to our register of national bibliographies. Each is followed by the year last updated.
Databases
- Natsional'na bibliohrafiia Ukrainy. Litopys avtoreferativ dysertatsii This is the online version of the Ukrainian national bibliography's series that covers dissertations defended in Ukraine. One of the requirements for obtaining a PhD in Ukraine is to publish summaries or abstracts, "avtoreferati" in Ukrainian, based on the chapters of the submitted dissertation. This bibliography covers all such publications from 2001 to the present.
- Natsional'na bibliohrafiia Ukrainy. Litopys hazetnykh statei This is the online version of the Ukrainian national bibliography's series that covers articles published in newspapers and magazines. It serves as an interdisciplinary index of these publications. Online coverage is available from 2002 to the present.
- Natsional'na bibliohrafiia Ukrainy. Litopys knyh This is the online version of the Ukrainian national bibliography's series that covers books. Online coverage is available from 2002 to the present.
- Natsional'na bibliohrafiia Ukrainy. Litopys zhurnal'nykh statei This is the online version of the Ukrainian national bibliography's series that covers journal articles. It serves as an interdisciplinary index of these publications. Online coverage is available from 2002 to the present.
- Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory Ulrich's provides data on regularly published and irregularly issued serials, as well as information on active, forthcoming, ceased, and suspended titles. Bibliographic records provide title-level details such as ISSN, publisher, electronic format availability, language, abstracting & indexing coverage, and full-text reviews.
