PubMed (with links to UofA e-journals)This link opens in a new windowAlso known as: MEDLINE (PubMed version) PubMed (1946 to the present) covers the world's biomedical and health sciences journal literature. Includes links to full text licensed by the University of Alberta. Can be used on-campus, or off-campus with authentication using a University of Alberta CCID.
CINAHL Plus with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowCINAHL Plus with Full Text (1937 to the present) provides indexing for the major English language journals in the areas of nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy and other allied health fields such as respiratory technology, x-ray technology, etc.
Topics covered by this database include patient care, health promotion, professional issues for health care workers, patient education, rehabilitation, and other related subjects. Those with little or no health science background may be able to find useful articles on the more common disease and injury conditions, as well as other health topics, because CINAHL does include some consumer health information. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,100 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included. Includes text in Chinese, Danish, English, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish, and Turkish languages.
Cochrane LibraryThis link opens in a new windowSee "more" for brief description about Cochrane Library
EMBASEThis link opens in a new windowEMBASE (1974 to the present) is a medical database which covers a wide range of journals in the biomedical sciences. EMBASE is particularly useful for locating drug information, as it indexes many drug journals not covered by MEDLINE. PLEASE NOTE: Our EMBASE license allows for only four simultaneous users.