National Film Sources
Finding Films and Other Resources Using the Library Catalogue
The bulk of our physical films (i.e. DVD/VHS) will be stored at RCRF (the off-site storage facility) or in Rutherford Library. We also have many streaming databases that you can explore in the Audio, Video & Gaming Resources subject guide.
When you search the Library to find films, you can combine keywords or search for titles or author names. In all cases, limit your results by Resource Type to "Videos":
For example:
- Any field contains: Shakespeare
- Title field contains: "the bad sleep well"
- Author/Creator contains: "Ingmar Bergman"
- You can also limit results to a format: e.g. "available online" or "physical items"
Online Streaming Sites (Free)
-
European Film Gateway (EFG) Your single access point to films, images and texts from selected collections of 34 film archives across Europe
-
British Pathé85,000 online films (see also YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/britishpathe)
-
Institut national de l'audiovisuelRepository of all French radio and television audiovisual archives
-
Moving Image Archive Provides an archive of downloadable movies.
-
Museum of Broadcast Collect, preserve, and present historic and contemporary radio and television content.
-
FedFlix Videos of the United States Government, from training films to history.
-
Public Moving Image Archives and Research Centers from around the world (National Film Preservation Board).
Playing Videos
The University of Alberta Library have videos in North American and foreign formats. We have a multi-zone DVD player on the first floor of Rutherford Library to pay videos in foreign formats.
For questions about playing videos in public, including classroom use, please see this Showing Movies page prepared by the University of Alberta Copyright Office.