Ethics and Law in Teaching

WestlawCanada  provides access to legal materials from Canada, United States and the United Kingdom.  To access only Canadian legal materials, click on LawSource on the right.

LawSource provides comprehensive coverage of Canadian primary law - legislation and court decisions - from across the country and on all legal topics, as well as secondary source commentary on all areas of law, from a variety of Canadian legal journals, books, and other sources.

1. CED
- provides an overview of the subject as well as the key laws and cases on any given topic
- some topics, like Education, have you choose either Western or Ontario
- you are able to link to full text of cases & matching sections of the Canadian Abridgement
- there are full citations for statutes referred, but you have to go to the Table of Statues at the beginning of each title to be linked to the text of the statute.

2. Canadian Abridgment Digests 
- will give you case summaries broken down by topic, and the summaries will generally include links to the full text of the case

3. Periodical Article search
 Although there is overlap between 'Articles and Newsletters' under commentary, and 'Index to Canadian Legal Literature' under finding tools, some items are unique to each.  Index to Canadian Legal Literature is a far more inclusive index, and should be your starting point for articles

4. Searching for Court Cases
- when you click on the 'Cases and Decisions' link, you can either enter a query into the search box at the top, or click on 'advanced' beside the orange search button to access a template
-  you will see a list of topics that does not include Education. If you want to search for education cases by topic, use either the CED or the Canadian Abridgement

5. Searching for Legislation
- when you click on the 'Statutes and Regulations' link, you can either enter a query into the search box at the top, or click on 'advanced' beside the orange search button to access a template

Note:
- when using the searchbox at the top of the screen, it does not search items listed under 'Finding Tools'

- although the 'Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation (McGill Guide)' is listed on the opening page, the University of Alberta is not subscribed to it, and you cannot actually access the text

CanLii is a non-profit organization managed by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada.
This website provides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.
 It is accessible for free on the Internet.

Lexis+ Academic Premium contains up-to-date case decisions and legislation from every province and territory of Canada, including unreported cases, as well as expert commentary, legal journal articles, current legal news services, and case history information.

You can either search from the box on your left, or search or browse individual titles
(search & sometimes browse option is beside the titles listed in My Bookshelf on the right)

1. Halsbury's Laws of Canada
- provides an overview of the subject as well as the key laws and cases on any given topic
- you can drill down to your subject (e.g. Education, then Conduct & Discipline)

2. If you go to 'All Canadian Court Cases' on your right to search, you will have the option from that template to narrow down to Jurisdiction (e.g.) Alberta

3.  If you want to read the whole text of a statute, choose 'All Canadian Statutes and Regulations' and choose browse.