Subject Guides: Economics: Canadian Economic Statistics

Selected Canadian Economic Statistics

Bankruptcies
Canadian Business Counts (Statistics Canada)
Locations counts, with and without employees, by employment size, NAICS and geography (Canada, province/territory), Dec. 2011- . Issued semi-annually.
1988- available through ODESI under the title "Canadian Business Counts". Includes census division and census metropolitan area data.
Foreign control
Labour force
Volunteering and donating (Statistics Canada)
Generosity in Canada and the United States: The .... Generosity Index (Fraser Institute)
Quantifies Canadian & US personal generosity to registered charities. Based on percentage of donors to tax filers, charitable donations as a percent of private income, & per capita volunteer hours.

Canadian Economic Statistics

Data (Statistics Canada)
Current and historical statistical data collected by Statistics Canada - on various social and economic aspects of Canadian life.
Data includes: consumer price index (CPI), GDP, household debt, income, inflation (% change in CPI), interest rates, leading indicators, money supply (M1, M2, ... ), wages/salaries.

Statista
This interdisciplinary database provides access to statistics for hundreds of industries, along with colourful infographics for download. Also included are Surveys, Country Reports, Industry Reports, and Market Outlooks, Reports and Studies.
S&P Capital IQ Pro
Access to financial data, news, and analytics for real estate investment trusts (REITs), industry data on bank & thrifts, financial services, insurance, energy assets, real estate in North America and other markets.

The Aftermarket Research (AMR) module provides access to analyst research reports from hundreds of global investment research providers, including top-ranked investment banks such as Citi, Credit Suisse, Barclays, UBS, J.P. Morgan, HSBC, and Deutsche Bank.
Datastream (WRDS)
Current and historical financial and economic time series data.
Access restricted to current UA faculty, staff and students.
The UofA Library has cancelled its subscription to LSEG Data & Analytics, which included all Datastream content. However, the following Datastream collections are still available on the WRDS platform, listed under LSEG:
- Commodities Data
- Economics Data
- Equities Data
- Futures Data
These collections are funded by the Alberta School of Business.
Conference Board of Canada: Data
This database provides electronic access to regularly updated indicators that forecast the economic performance of Canada, the United States, the Provinces, Canadian CMAs and Canadian Industrial Sectors. The Consumer and Business Confidence databases are also included.
Contains 7 Conference Board databases:
1. Canadian forecast: 5 year and 20 year forecasts of 540 economic indicators from 9 sectors of the national economy
2. Provincial Forecast: 5 year and 20 year forecasts for each province, 1500 indicators updated quarterly
3. Metropolitan Forecast: 5 year forecasts for 27 Canadian metropolitan areas, 1,600 indicators updated 2 to 3 times a year depending upon CMA
4. Consumer Confidence: summarizes the responses to 4 attitudinal questions on employment, prospects, financial position and whether or not it is a good time to make a major purchase; 160 indicators, updated quarterly
5. Business Confidence: summarizes the responses to 10 attitudinal questions designed to measure CEOs' perceptions of the current economic environment, their investment intentions and their determinants; 50 indicators, updated quarterly
6. Canadian Industrial: 5 year forecast for 10 major industries ( aircraft and parts, auto and parts, construction, food manufacturing, information technology and communications, oil and gas, paper products, tourism, retail trade and wood products.
7. US Forecasts: 5 year forecast for U.S. economy; 100 indicators, updated quarterly
Finaeon (formerly Global Financial Data)
Finaeon includes two databases: US Stocks and GFDatabase. US Stocks includes historical price data for individual current and delisted stocks from every US exchange. Finaeon consists of macro level financial data covering one or a multitude of asset classes.
ODESI
ODESI is a digital repository for Social Science data, including polling data. It is a data exploration, extraction and analysis tool that uses the Data Documentation Initiative (DDI) social science data standard which provides researchers the ability to search for survey questions (variables) across thousands of datasets. There are both microdata and aggregate data available, in a range of formats.
OECD (formerly OECD iLibrary)

The OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.

Subjects (Statistics Canada)
Groups Statistics Canada data under broad subject headings. Headings include: economic accounts, environment, energy, income, pensions, spending & wealth, international trade, seniors, retail & wholesale.
Bank of Canada - Statistics
The Bank of Canada provides current and historical statistics on interest rates, bond yields, C.P.I., exchange rates, inflation, money market yields, and many other financial and monetary indicators.
2021 Census Postsecondary Research Kit
Toolkit on how to use the 2021 Census data for research.

Economics

Selected Canadian Economic Statistics

Canadian Economic Statistics

Alberta Statistics