Teaching First Nations, Métis and Inuit Languages

This list contains Cree language and culture resources that have been authorized for use in
Alberta schools. Alberta Education selects and authorizes the best possible instructional
materials for the implementation of approved programs of study. The resource authorization
categories are student basic, student support or teaching, and the status is noted for each
resource.

This resource was developed in collaboration with the Aboriginal Learning Services department of Edmonton Catholic Schools. The resource provides information about First Nations, Métis and Inuit (FNMI) cultures and perspectives, and sample strategies for meeting the needs and recognizing the gifts of FNMI students.

The first of its kind in Canada, the Prairie Indigenous eBook Collection increases access to books by Indigenous authors and writings about Indigenous culture. Over two hundred eBooks published on the prairies are available to all Albertans, with no holds, through the province’s public library systems. (Text from readalberta.ca.)
U of A staff and students can access EPL services including ebooks (regardless of geographic location) with the L-Pass.

The Aboriginal Collection at EPL focuses on materials written, performed and/or produced by Aboriginal Peoples.

First Nations, Metis and Inuit perspectives in Curriculum.

Gabrielle Dumont Institute of Native Studies and Research

Four Directions Teachings is a visually stunning audio narrated resource for learning about indigenous knowledge and philosophy from five diverse First Nations in Canada.

Residential Schools History and Information

This teacher’s resource guide provides a variety of activities to help young readers (Grades 2 to 5)
discover and appreciate the cultural importance of the buffalo to the Indigenous people
of the Plains. The proposed exercises were chosen to permit students to understand
better the importance and place occupied by the venerable buffalo in the culture of the
Plains Cree people.

Infusing Aboriginal Perspectives into Your Teaching Practice. University of Toronto.

Educational & Curriculum Video. McIntyre Media Inc.

Indigenous peoples are diverse, within and across nations. However, the Indigenous peoples have experienced colonisation processes that have undermined Indigenous young people’s access to their identity, language and culture. Published by OECD.

interactive map allows you to see what the languages, traditional territories, and treaties in an area.

This website provides support for all levels within school jurisdictions to increase awareness, understanding and application of First Nations, Métis and Inuit histories, perspectives and ways of knowing for the purpose of implementing treaty and residential schools education and Truth and Reconciliation Commission Calls to Action for education.

This foundational knowledge about First Nations, Métis and Inuit is critical for teachers, school leaders and education stakeholders to understand and apply new ways of knowing necessary to advance reconciliation and shift thinking and attitudes. It will also help to ensure the education system continues to build capacity to include First Nations, Métis and Inuit perspectives in the classroom and curriculum.

FNMI artifacts, clothing, traditional foods, examples of modes of transportation, & games - all mini sized. Includes recorded music, too.

esson plans designed to support and build Alberta educators’ competency to meet the new Alberta Teacher Quality Standard.

Includes Text, Audio, Video, Image, and Language
Collections from the Inuvialuit Cultural Centre.

Includes samples for ELA, Art, Science and Social

From The Manitoba Teachers' Society.

RLI’s Education Team has developed engaging lesson plans based on the Five Foundational Knowledge Themes.

As you infuse diverse, inclusive, and culturally relevant materials into fiction and nonfiction reading experiences, this toolkit helps analyze collections, identify and bring to life diverse texts, and encourage reflection on cultural representation.

This list is a starting point to discovering resources on the topic of residential schools for children and young adults.

2021 Edition - 25 of the best Indigenous picture books published in Canada between 2018–2020 were selected for this collection.

Interactive web resource designed to assist educators with weaving Indigenous ways of knowing, being, and doing into their teaching and learning, starting with story. Audience: preservice and professional teachers.

The annotated listings provided in this guide identify currently available authentic First Peoples texts that students can work with to meet educational standards related to literacy as well as a variety of specific subject areas.

Book Week 2015 Theme Guide. Each annotation provides age ranges and grade levels recommending the suggested audience for each book.

Annotated book lists from the Alberta Regional Professional Development Consortia (ARPDC) featuring recommended titles for students in our local context.

Leveled reading series featuring the Michif language and culture for elementary readers.

Invites Kindergarten-Grade 8 students and teachers to connect with Indigenous history, culture and perspectives. See the website: https://school.nelson.com/under-one-sun/

Canadian Children's Book Centre themed list.

The narrative comments along with the annotated bibliographies and related reading lists, explanations, interpretations, and suggestions are meant to encourage teachers to find their own voice in teaching Aboriginal literatures, engage in a dialogue with these texts, and bring in their own background.

Our book lists showcase the diversity of Native children’s books. Arranged by topic and age category, the lists are intended to introduce readers and educators to Native books they may not have known about.