Maps and Demographics of First Nations, Métis and Inuit Languages
- Canadian Census in Brief - The Aboriginal languages of First Nations people, Métis and InuitPart of the 2016 Census, this article provides a brief overview and demographic information of languages spoken by Inuit, First Nations, and Métis peoples.
- Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada Giant Floor Map OrientationSee Google doc with information about the Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada Giant Floor Map including pictures and a description of materials.
- Native-Land.caMap of Indigenous languages, treaties and territories throughout Canada.
- Mapping Indigenous Languages in Canada - Canadian Geographic Map and info-graphic set on Indigenous languages spoken in Canada. Organized as 60 languages within 12 larger language families and notes the number of speakers identified in the census.
- Ethnologue: Languages of the World Provides a comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world's known living languages.
- UNESCO Atlas of the World's Languages in Danger The online edition of the Atlas is complementary to the print edition It does not reproduce the regional and thematic chapters of the print version, but it offers additional information on the listed endangered languages. Via this interface, you can browse through them, using combinations of search criteria and/or zooming in the map below (see Browsing functionnalities ). For more detailed information, please consult the Languages mapping
About this guide
This guide is an introduction to finding resources for teaching First Nations, Métis and Inuit Languages in Alberta schools using sources and services available online and via the University of Alberta Library.
CILLDI Participants may also wish to consult related UAL guides on the left navigation menu.
Online Resources
- Supporting Indigenous Language Revitalization (SILR) The goal of the SILR initiative is to create a future where Indigenous languages are spoken in all aspects of life including the home, in schools and institutions, workplaces and on the land.
Cree: Language of the Plains / nēhiyawēwin: paskwāwi-pīkiskwēwin by
Cree: Language of the Plains is a comprehensive educational resource, offering a broad range of learning materials that is easily accessible to Cree language learners. This collection includes an updated and redesigned Cree language textbook, Cree language audio labs, and a Cree language workbook.
Publication Date: 2018; online Open Education Resource
- Federation of Endangered Languages of Canada (FEL) FEL exists to safeguard intangible cultural heritage for future generations by enabling the documentation, protection, revitalization and promotion of First Nation, Inuit and Métis languages. The group supports different initiatives and programs across Canada and provides information of each on their website.
- Canadian Encyclopedia - Indigenous Languages in Canada An introduction article to Indigenous languages in Canada, including topics around language families and revitalization.
- Cree FlashcardsOnline Cree flashcards on Quizlet.com
- Cree Literacy Network The Cree Literacy Network was created in 2010 to promote Cree language and cultural literacy, through the publication of bilingual books and other literacy materials (in Cree and English). The website houses a number of different Cree language resources, with special attention to teaching Standard Roman Orthography.
- First Voices: Language Legacies Celebrating Indigenous Cultures/ Des patrimoines linguistiques celebrant des cultures indigenes Tools and services designed to support Aboriginal people engaged in language archiving, language teaching & culture revitalization. (From the website.)
- FirstVoices Keyboards - Android The FirstVoices Keyboard App contains keyboard software for over 100 languages, and includes every First Nations language in Canada, Australia and New Zealand, plus many languages in the USA.
- Inuvialuit Digital LibraryIncludes Text, Audio, Video, Image, and Language
Collections from the Inuvialuit Cultural Centre. - itwêwina Plains Cree Dictionary itwêwina was made by the University of Alberta ALTLab, in collaboration with the First Nations University and Maskwacîs Education Schools Commission (MESC). The dictionary entries are courtesy of Dr. Arok Wolvengrey and MESC.
- Kanienʼkéha Open Source Endangered Language Initative This resource was created to promote community development of Kanienʼkéha online language resources. With help speakers and elders the resource aims to create a digital inventory of words and their cultural significance, including a keyword searchable dictionary.
- Learn Michif A website designed to teach and promote Michif—the language of the Métis Nation--and the culture of the Métis. Site was designed by and is maintained by Métis BC Nation and Métis Youth British Columbia.
- Michif Lesson Plans Explore Heritage Michif Lesson plans created by Métis Educators for grades K-9. The interactive activities will help educators build their foundational knowledge about the Michif language while engaging and introducing students to a unique Indigenous Language.
- Michif Voices Collection A library of audio resources on Michif, Michif-French, and Northern Michif created by the Gabriel Dumont Institute (GDI) and Michif speakers.
- The Ojibwe People's Dictionary a searchable and continually updating Ojibwe-English dictionary that features the voices of Ojibwe speakers. Maintained by the University of Minnesota and Professor Nichols.
- Online Cree Dictionary Interactive First Nations language portal with dictionary and curriculum based resources to further the development for Cree language in Canada. (From the website.)
- Piikani Paitapiisin - Online Blackfoot Dictionary Developed by Native Teaching Aids and the Blackfoot Community College, this online dictionary allows searching in English or Blackfoot for words, phrases, affixes, and morphemes.
- SSDEC Language Resources A collection of resources and other materials created by the South Slave Divisional Education Council, including three dictionaries for Bush Cree, Dene Yatie, and Chipewyan.
- Tłı̨chǫ Yatıı̀ Multimedia Dictionary An online dictionary based off of Tłı̨chǫ Yatıı̀ Enı̨htł’è/ Dogrib Dictionary published in 1996 by the Dogrib Divisional Board of Education (now the Tłı̨chǫ Community Services Agency). This resource is keyword searchable, with the additions of voice files and new words and phrases.
Language Learning Apps
Many Indigenous communities across North America have come together to create language learning mobile apps for children and adults on both Android and iOS.
- animikii Language Learning List Languages included: Ojibway/Odawa (including Nishnaabe and Saulteaux), Chickasaw, Chipewayan, Dene Zhatie, Ehattesaht, Kwak'kala, Gwich’in, Halq'eméylem, Cree (Plains, Swampy, Maskwacis), Nakota, Dakelh, Northern St̕'át̕'imcets, Nisga’a, Secwépemc, Sliammon, North Slavey, South Slavey, SENĆOŦEN, Tlicho, Kanien'kehá (Mohawk), Xeni Gwet'in, Tsuut'ina, and Tlicho Dene.
- ATC Cree - Android The Athabasca Tribal Council (ATC) online language app translates English into Cree, focusing on dialects of Northeastern Alberta. Designed to be easy to use for both beginners and those with some previous knowledge of the language, it can be used for self-study or as an aid in conversation with elders who are Cree speakers.
- ATC Cree - IOS The Athabasca Tribal Council (ATC) online language app translates English into Cree, focusing on dialects of Northeastern Alberta. Designed to be easy to use for both beginners and those with some previous knowledge of the language, it can be used for self-study or as an aid in conversation with elders who are Cree speakers.
- First Voices Apps List Languages included: Nazko-Dakelh, Xeni Gwet'in, Secwépemc, Northern St̕'át̕'imcets, Sliammon, Ehattesaht, Kwak̓wala, Lilwat - Ucwalmicwts, SENĆOŦEN, Halq'eméylem, Skidegate Haida, Nisg̱a'a, and Ktunaxa.
- Honour Water - iOS Honour Water is a singing game for mobile developed by Pinnguaq with art and design by Elizabeth LaPensée. Songs by Anishinaabe elders and Sharon Day sung by the Oshkii Giizhik Singers pass on teachings about water in Anishinaabemowin.
- Michif to Go - Android Developed by the Gabriel Dumont Institute, this English to Michif app has over 12,000 translations and audio pronunciations by Michif-language expert Norman Fleury. A search tool allows users to look up the English word to find the Michif-Cree translations.
- Ogoki Learning Systems - Android Ogoki Learning Inc. (http://www.ogokilearning.com/) is an Indigenous owned and run company that develops software for language revitalization in partnership with Indigenous communities. Languages included: Cree (Plains Cree, Manitoba Cree), Oji-Cree, Ojibway, Arikara, Tlingit, Southern Tutchone, Nishnaabe, Hupa, Potawatomi, Saulteaux, Wolastoqey, Nadleh Stella Dakleh, Dakota, Siglitun, Blackfeet, Chukchansi, Miwok, Nakota, Meskwaki, and Yurok.
- Tusaalanga - iOS Includes thousands of Inuktitut vocabulary audio files, dialogues, organized lessons, grammar notes and multiple dialect support
Children Friendly Apps
- KOBE Learn Oji-Cree - Android KOBE Learn is an app designed to help young users learn common words and phrases in Ojibway, Cree and Oji-Cree, the traditional languages of the northern communities served by the Keewaytinook Okimakanak Board of Education.
- Maskwacis Cree - IOS site description for Maskwacis Cree - iOS app The Maskwacis Cree app, from the Samson Cree Nation, includes games, quizzes and culture notes with songs, video and historical images.
- Piikani - Android Piikani Paitapiiyssin v2.0 App continues to build on our Piikani Blackfoot vocab library. Version 2.0 now contains 300+ Blackfoot words, translations, phonics, and audio files. We've also included rich cultural learning on Piikani Clans, Piikani Symbols, the Winter Count, along with a new section which includes Piikani Sign Language with videos.
- Piikani Paitapiiyssin - IOS Contains 200 Piikani Blackfoot words, translations, phonics, and audio files. It also has historical images, along with five Piikani cultural videos and a search database for words and phrases.
- Stoney Nakoda Language - Android This app contains over 590 Nakoda language audio files with fluent Nakoda speakers. Colourful pictures and Nakoda spellings are provided to show how each word is pronounced. The app also has games, quizzes and beautiful historical images and songs
- Thornton Media Apps - iOS Produces Indigenous Language Apps for a variety of First Nations groups across Canada.
Subject Librarian
Subject Librarian-Bibliothécaire: Romance languages, Education, Business, and Campus Saint-Jean
Denis Lacroix
Contact:
1-01G Rutherford South
University of Alberta Library
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2J4
Website
University of Alberta Library
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2J4