Skip to Main Content

Writing, Editing, and Publishing Indigenous Stories

Writing Competitions for Indigenous Authors


There are many Canadian writing awards listed in A Guide to Writing Prizes for Canadians. Listed below are some specific awards. 

Kemosa Scholarship 

Eligibility: This scholarship is for FNMI women, who live in Alberta. Check  the website for submission requirements. 

Indigenous Arts & Stories Scholarship 

Eligibility: Must be FNMI identifying and between the ages of 6-29. Consult the website for competition guidelines.

Gillis Purcell Memorial Journalism Scholarship for Indigenous Peoples

To be awarded to an Indigenous Peoples (status or non-status Indian, Metis or Inuit) enrolled at a Canadian university or college. The student must already be attending the post-secondary institution and must be either enrolled in a journalism program or actively involved with a news organization associated with the institution (e.g. student paper or broadcast station). The scholarship is open to French and English-speaking Indigenous Canadians.

The Writers' Trust of Canada Scholarship 

Various awards; check the website for descriptions. 

Sage Hill Writing Awards 

Various awards; check the website for details. 


Funding can be provided in the form of author grants, these grands can be federally or provincially funded, or come from a third party institution. 

These resources will help you research funding sources: