Subject Librarian
About the Film Studies Library Collection
Film Studies collections comprising of books, films, journals and more are housed physically and virtually across a number of different libraries at the University of Alberta Library, including the Humanities and Social Sciences and the Research and Collections Resource Facility (RCRF). Use this guide and the library catalogue to begin identifying the resources you need. Collections focus on the academic study and analysis of film and filmmaking from early cinema to the present, of all genres and origin, including experimental cinematography and Canadian cinema.
All films in physical formats are catalogued on the library catalogue and many streaming films are also searchable on the catalogue by title or by director (as an author). Information about video formats and DVD regional codes is also provided on the library catalogue, and a multizone dvd/blu-ray player is available in Rutherford Library North. Streaming services are listed in this guide's Videos tab.
Databases
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text Also known as: |Film & Television Literature Index|Film and Television Literature Index| Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering television and film writing. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Also includes full text from a number of publications.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database Provides indexing and abstracts from sources covering film, theatre, dance, stagecraft, television, and more. Coverage ranges from 1864 to current. Full text is available for approximately 25% of the indexed journals.
- Project Muse Project Muse: Online Journals from Johns Hopkins University Press provides full text access to journals in literary theory, classics, history and cultural studies, philosophy, film, theatre and performing arts, political science, and mathematics.
- JSTOR JSTOR contains fulltext academic journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Sciences. JSTOR provides complete journal backruns from the date of initial publication up to a date defined, on a publisher by publisher basis, by a "moving wall". The moving wall is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issues available in JSTOR.
- New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present The collection includes full-length feature films from leading independent distributors.
- OCLC WorldCat (via FirstSearch) Access to this database ended December 31, 2023. Please use Worldcat.org instead.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window OBO is a collection of disciplined-based subject guides to important and significant sources in that area of study. Each guide contains a selective list of bibliographic citations with recommendations, along with an editorial commentary to show how the cited sources are interrelated.
Guides
- Tri-Agency OA HandoutSee handout for details on complying with the harmonized Tri-Agency OA policy
- LACMAB - Latin/x American Cinema and Media Annotated Bibliography LACMAB is a digital bibliography created and curated collaboratively by leading scholars in the field of Latin/x American Film Studies. Annotations are available in Zotero.
- Cinegogia - Resources for teaching Latin American Cinemas Cinegogia is an open-access curated module for pedagogical resources in Spanish and English related to Latin American film studies.