- UAlberta Home |
- Find a Person |
- ONEcard |
- Bear Tracks |
- Maps |
- Email & Apps |
- eClass
Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences
A combination of broad disciplinary coverage and scientific excellence, the Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences will be an indispensable addition to the library of anyone interested in forests, forestry and forest sciences. Packed with valuable insights from experts all over the world, this remarkable set not only summarizes recent advances in forest science techniques, but also thoroughly covers the basic information vital to comprehensive understanding of the important elements of forestry. The Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences also covers relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry (e.g. tropical forestry and dryland forestry), scientific names of trees and shrubs, and the applied, economic, and social aspects of forest management. Valuable key features further enhance the utility of this Encyclopedia as an exceptional reference tool. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com. * Edited and written by a distinguished group of editors and contributors * Well-organized encyclopedic format provides concise, readable entries, easy searches, and thorough cross-references * Illustrative tables, figures, and photographs in every entry, produced in full color * Comprehensive glossary defines new and important terms * Complete, up-to-date coverage of over 60 areas of forest sciences -- sure to be of interest to scientists, students, and professionals alike! * Editor-in-Chief is the past president of the International Union of Forestry Research Organizations, the oldest international collaborative forestry research organization with over 15,000 scientists from 100 countries
Encyclopedia of Wood
Praise for the previous edition: "...excellent..."—Booklist An invaluable reference for woodworkers, crafters, furniture designers, and home enthusiasts, this comprehensive guide helps readers discover one of our most beautiful natural resources and learn how to use and appreciate this wonderfully versatile material. The Encyclopedia of Wood, New Edition provides an A-to-Z directory featuring more than 150 of the world s most popular woods, with information on growth rate, distribution, key characteristics, working properties, and commercial uses. Each entry includes a detailed color photograph to show the tree s unique grain, pattern, figure, and color, providing a valuable visual resource for selecting timber. An informative introduction explains the anatomy and life cycle of trees as well as the process of producing boards and veneers, and examines essential conservation issues. With approximately 225 full-color illustrations, this guide is perfect for use in a range of applications and is a one-stop resource to the remarkable world of wood.
Firefly Encyclopedia of Trees
A comprehensive new reference work on the trees of the world, with fully illustrated A-Z directory. The Firefly Encyclopedia of Trees covers the entire world of trees with outstanding text and abundant illustrations and photography. Forests and woods cover 30% of the world's land surface. This book describes the forest ecosystem and the four major forest types of the world: boreal, temperate, subtropical, tropical. The main part of the encyclopedia is the A-Z directory of the world's trees: Species identification tables, fact boxes, and thumbnail maps show the distribution of native trees. Information for each tree includes a concise taxonomic description and explains where the tree grows naturally. Color photographs and illustrations depict each family in summer and fall, bark texture, leaves, seeds and nuts, and where applicable, blossoms. Captions describe the dimensions and characteristics of each tree in exacting detail. Other interesting features of the encyclopedia include: Detailed descriptions of tree structures: shapes, trunk structure, root systems, leaf shapes and functions, flowers and fruit Notable forests around the world Effect of trees on economies and societies Further reading section Extensive glossary Comprehensive indexes of common and scientific names. The Firefly Encyclopedia of Trees features the familiar as well as the exotic. The Baobab, for instance, can store tens of thousands of gallons in water in its light, fleshy wood, remains leafy during droughts, and provides a natural source of water for people and animals alike.
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees
This book is the result of 10 years of on-site, meticulous painting of individual living trees as well as their detailed parts. David More, a supremely gifted botanical artist, has contributed 330 more illustrations than the 2000 contained in the first edition. The main section of the book is devoted to almost 400 double-page spreads, which describe and illustrate more than 1800 species and cultivars of trees. The trees illustrated were selected because they are commonly cultivated in England and continental Europe; most are also to be found in American gardens, and some are indeed native to North America. Besides paintings of the trees' habits - both summer and winter for deciduous trees - there are detailed paintings of leaves or needles, bark, blossoms, fruit, nuts, or cones. This book is a must-have for any reader with an interest in trees, whether to grow them, identify them, or simply take pleasure in the minutely detailed and beautifully drawn artwork of David More.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An Historical Dictionary of Forestry and Woodland Terms
An Historical Dictionary of Forestry and Woodland Terms describes the special words used by those working or hunting in England′s woodlands and forests from the early Middle Ages until the present. The author does not simply give the meanings of words: he describes the customs and practices to which they refer, and frequently adds quotations from contemporary sources, the latter ranging from medieval royal charters and Shakespeare′s As You Like It to such books as Taylor′s Common Good or the Emprovements of Commons (1652), John Evelyn′s Sylva (1664) and Jefferies′s Wildlife in a Southern County (1879).<br /> <br /> From this dictionary the reader will not only learn the meaning of such terms as pismires, perambulation, furlong and quaking ash, but will find brief histories of the forest courts of the Middle Ages, and the lawing of dogs. Long entries describe such complex procedures as bark-stripping, dishing and dressing, and the care and exploitation of coppice. Many words and practices described here survived until the recent past and some are still in use today.<br /> <br /> This unique book will be welcomed by everyone interested in the history of English rural life in which woodlands and forests have played, over the centuries, such a vital role.<br /> <br /> The entries are fully referenced and illustrated where appropriate with line drawings.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
The Forests Handbook, an Overview of Forest Science
The future of the world′s forests is at the forefront of environmental debate. Rising concerns over the effects of deforestation and climate change are highlighting the need both to conserve and manage existing forests and woodland through sustainable forestry practices. The Forests Handbook, written by an international team of both scientists and practitioners, presents an integrated approach to forests and forestry, applying our present understanding of forest science to management practices, as a basis for achieving sustainability. <p>Volume One presents an overview of the world′s forests; their locations and what they are like, the science of how they operate as complex ecosystems and how they interact with their environment. Volume Two applies this science to reality; it focuses on forestry interventions and their impact, the principles governing how to protect forests and on how we can better harness the enormous benefits forests offer. Case studies are drawn from several different countries and are used to illustrate the key points.</p> <p>Development specialists, forest managers and those involved with land and land-use will find this handbook a valuable and comprehensive overview of forest science and forestry practice. Researchers and students of forestry, biology, ecology and geography will find it equally accessible and useful.</p>
Forest Fires
Fire management involves protecting natural resources from fire but also using controlled burning for land management purposes. Who are the stewards of land management and the researchers who devote their entire careers studying fire? How are ecosystems restored after major fires? What are the economic ramifications and what assessment tools are available? "Forest Fires: A Reference Handbook" explores the historical, ecological, economic, and social dimensions of wildland combustion and their impacts in North America. Explaining how legislation and public perception have been shaped by historic fires and fire seasons, particular emphasis is placed on the summer of 2000 as a way of understanding and managing future fires.
Introductory probability and statistics : applications for forestry and natural sciences
With interest growing in areas of forestry, conservation and other natural sciences, the need to organize and tabulate large amounts of forestry and natural science information has become a necessary skill. Previous attempts of applying statistical methods to these areas tend to be over-specialized and of limited use; an elementary text using methods, examples and exercises that are relevant to forestry and the natural sciences is long overdue. This book utilizes basic descriptive statistics and probability, as well as commonly used statistical inferential tools to introduce topics that are commonplace in a forestry context such as hypothesis texting, design of experiments, sampling methods, nonparametric tests and statistical quality control. It also contains examples and exercises drawn from the fields of forestry, wood science, and conservation.
Sampling Techniques for Forest Inventories by
Sound forest management planning requires cost-efficient approaches to optimally utilize given resources. Emphasizing the mathematical and statistical features of forest sampling to assess classical dendrometrical quantities, Sampling Techniques for Forest Inventories presents the statistical concepts and tools needed to conduct a modern forest inventory. The book first examines design-based survey sampling and inference for finite populations, covering inclusion probabilities and the Horvitz Thompson estimator, followed by more advanced topics, including three-stage element sampling and the model-assisted estimation procedure. The author then develops the infinite population model/Monte Carlo approach for both simple and complex sampling schemes. He also uses a case study to reveal a variety of estimation procedures, relies on anticipated variance to tackle optimal design for forest inventories, and validates the resulting optimal schemes with data from the Swiss National Forest Inventory. The last chapters outline facts pertaining to the estimation of growth and introduce transect sampling based on the stereological approach. Containing many recent developments available for the first time in book form, this concise and up-to-date work provides the necessary theoretical and practical foundation to analyze and design forest inventories."
