Subject Guides: Industry: Home

Industries (EY)
Scroll down to the industry section to find sector analysis.
Industries (PWC)
Links to PWC industry sector publications.
Industries (KPMG)
Links to KPMG industry publications.
Industries (Deloitte)
Use the Industries drop down menu to access industry analysis.

Social Media

Insider Intelligence
Special Limitations on Content Use for Insider Intelligence
Content from Insider Intelligence may be used, when properly cited, in documents and presentations, but with the following limitations:
- No more than 100 words collectively from any single report
- No single excerpt containing more than 40 words
- No more than five charts from any single report

Pew Research Center
Website that includes substantial reports on internet and tech use.

Other

Consumer Expenditure Survey
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics site has tables and population segment information.

Tech and Industry reports - databases

Statista
This interdisciplinary database provides access to statistics for hundreds of industries, along with colourful infographics for download. Also included are Surveys, Country Reports, Industry Reports, and Market Outlooks, Reports and Studies.
IBISWorld
U.S. & Canadian industry reports that cover characteristics, performance, trends and statistics.
Fitch Connect
Industry forecasts by country; may include SWOT analysis.
To access Fitch Connect
- Click on the “Access Database” button above
- Click on “SSO”
- Enter “universityofalberta” (not case-sensitive) as the Organization ID
- Click on “Continue” and this will redirect you to the CCID login page to verify your credentials
- Log in with your CCID
- Select the “Terms of Use” and “Privacy Policy”
- Click “Accept” to access the database
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
See, Passport User Guide
MarketLine Advantage This link opens in a new window
Industry profiles.
MarketResearch.com Academic
Covers numerous sectors: beverages, food, consumer goods, life sciences, heavy industry, technology & media.
Mintel Reports
Use for Demographics
Mergent Market Atlas (formerly Mergent Online)
Use the Industry analysis tab to access North American industry sector reports.
Use for Demographics
NetAdvantage
Search for your industry in the top search box. Limit your results using the tabs above the search results (Profiles > Industries). Click on the industry name and then Industry Surveys (left column).
Conference Board of Canada: Reports
Links to a number of Candian industry sector reports (Browse by Topic > Industry Sector Economics).
Value Line Investment Survey
Predominantly U.S. with some Canadian content; includes sections on specific industries
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Analyses and forecasts of market trends of sectors in emerging technologies.
Use of this product is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Alberta and requires login with a current CCID. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this product for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Covers emerging technologies.
Insider Intelligence
Insider Intelligence provides market research information related to the Internet, e-business, online marketing and emerging technologies. eMarketer aggregates and analyzes e-business research from thousands of sources, and produces analyst reports, daily research articles and e-business and online marketing statistics.
Special Limitations on Content Use for Insider Intelligence
Content from Insider Intelligence may be used, when properly cited, in documents and presentations, but with the following limitations:
- No more than 100 words collectively from any single report
- No single excerpt containing more than 40 words
- No more than five charts from any single report

Ask Us

Rutherford Library

Contact:

Rutherford Library
11208 89 Ave
Edmonton AB T6G 2G5

Email Us

780-492-5791

Citing Business Sources Using APA?

Use our Tough Stuff guide to help you cite difficult business sources!

Industry

Social Media

Other

Tech and Industry reports - databases

Ask Us

Citing Business Sources Using APA?

Tutorials