Evaluating Information
Use the CRAAP Test
Currency - Is it timely?
Relevance - Useful for your purposes?
Authority - Who? What is the source?
Accuracy - References to back it up?
Purpose - Why? Is there a bias?
More detailed information on the CRAAP Test
Databases for Finding Articles
Mathematical and Statistical Sciences Databases
- MathSciNetMathSciNet is the searchable database providing access to over 55 years
of of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications from 1940 to the present. It provides subject access to journals and conferences publishing in all areas of mathematical sciences, including mathematics, statistics, and computer science as well as mathematically related research in physics, operations research, engineering, biology and other disciplines. - zbMATH Open
This is the world's most comprehensive and longest-running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. The extensive book and journal coverage, which starts in the 18th century, is complete from 1868 to the present day, due to the integration of the "Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik" database.
- arXiv.org
arXiv.org is an electronic archive and distribution server for open access research papers in Physics, Astronomy, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology and Statistics.
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Web of Science - All DatabasesA major multidisciplinary database for the sciences and the social sciences, as well as a great research metrics tool.
- ScopusThe world's largest largest interdisciplinary database, includes citation and cited author searching. Comprehensive coverage from 1960. Incomplete coverage for earlier years.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is the largest interdisciplinary database. Make sure to use simple searches for the best results.
