Subject Guides: Education Research: Introduction to Research

Education Specific Databases

ERIC (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (1966 to the present) covers all aspects of education, from preschool to post-secondary and adult education, and all topics within the broad discipline.
Education Database
Indexes hundreds of Education journals, many with full text.
CBCA: Social Sciences
Indexes Canadian Education journals (scholarly and trade/professional publications).
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.
Education Research Complete
Education Complete is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.
Academic Search Complete
Also known as: |Academic Search Premier| Academic Search Complete provides indexing and abstracts for a large number of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for a subset of these journals.
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.

Find Education Research (academic journals, etc.)

Education Multi-Database Search (ProQuest)
Australian Education Index, CBCA: Social Sciences,
Education Database, and ERIC.

General Research Tools

International Encyclopedia of Education by Rob Tierney (Editor-In-Chief); Fazal Rizvi (Editor-In-Chief); Kadriye Ercikan (Editor-In-Chief) International Encyclopedia of Education, Fourth Edition updates readers on emerging interests and developments in the field. The book presents comprehensive reviews of research in various areas, but also includes illustrations/examples from regions, nations, locations--situated and contrastive (i.e., rather than exemplars serving transferability rather than generalizability avoiding standardization and homogenizations). In so doing, this encyclopedia can serve topic-specific purposes as well as be enlisted in a fashion which binds together separate entries. Sections provide comprehensive reviews and the state of research, theory and practice in a fashion that is both historic and developmental. Provides comprehensive reviews of research in various areas, including illustrations/examples from regions, nations, locations--situated and contrastive (i.e. rather than exemplars serving transferability rather than generalizability avoiding standardization and homogenizations) Addresses the state of research, theory and practice in a fashion that is both historic and developmental Presents a critical accounting of not only what educational scholars have achieved, but also current challenges
ISBN: 9780128186299
Publication Date: 2023-03-16

SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a web-based research methods tool that covers quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help design research projects (using the Project planner), understand a particular method or identify a new method, and write up research.
SAGE Books This link opens in a new window
E-books and reference works in Business, Education and the Social Sciences
SAGE Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video content in Counseling & Psychotherapy; Education; Media, Communication & Cultural Studies; and Sage Research Methods Video.

Research and Writing
This a very useful subject guide which outlines Finding Peer-Reviewed Sources as well as Finding and Evaluating Sources.
Research Data Management
The Tri-Agency Statement of Principles on Data Management notes, "Data management planning is necessary at all stages of the research project lifecycle, from design and inception to completion." The tools on this site help researchers manage and preserve their research data.
Primary Sources
This is a very useful subject guide which helps the researcher to locate and evaluate Primary Sources. Primary sources can be found in published materials at the library, or digitized into databases and online collections. Primary sources can be individual items, collections brought together by theme, or archival fonds (records created by an individual or institution in the course of daily activities).
Theses and Dissertations
A very useful subject guide to help in locating theses and dissertations, as well as links to other useful research tools.

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
Ulrich's provides data on regularly published and irregularly issued serials, as well as information on active, forthcoming, ceased, and suspended titles. Bibliographic records provide title-level details such as ISSN, publisher, electronic format availability, language, abstracting & indexing coverage, and full-text reviews.

Common General Educational Research Journals

The Canadian Journal of Higher Education
It intends to publish manuscripts on topics that address and are relevant to the Canadian higher education system and its structures, processes, and community; and to promote research with international and comparative dimensions in relation to Canadian higher education.
The Journal of Educational Research
It is a bimonthly peer-reviewed academic journal covering research into education.
Journal of Teacher Education
The mission of the Journal of Teacher Education, the flagship journal of AACTE, is to serve as a research forum for a diverse group of scholars invested in the preparation and continued support of teachers who can have a significant voice in discussions and decision-making.
Higher Education
This publication examines educational developments throughout the world in universities, polytechnics, colleges, and vocational and education institutions. It reports on developments in both public and private higher education sectors.
Theory and research in education
It is an international peer reviewed journal that publishes theoretical, empirical and conjectural papers contributing to the development of educational theory, policy and practice.

Subject Librarian

Carolyn Carpan

Email Me

Contact:

Rutherford South
ccarpan@ualberta.ca

Subject Librarian-Bibliothécaire: Romance languages, Education, Business, and Campus Saint-Jean

Denis Lacroix

Email Me

Contact:

1-01G Rutherford South
University of Alberta Library
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2J4

Database Search Tips

Developing a search query can be a challenge, but please consider these tips:

Check out a database's Thesaurus to find appropriate keywords for the item for which you are looking.

A longer search query helps databases retrieve more specific resources

Using "OR" between terms will retrieve more results

Using "AND" between terms will retrieve less results