Renewable Resources encompass a broad spectrum of scientific and management applications in natural and managed landscapes: Environmental and Conservation Science, Forest Science, Forest Engineering, Soil Science, and more.
Reference module in earth systems and environmental sciencesThis online Reference Module allows you to search and access the complete full-text content of 19 encyclopedias and major reference works in Earth Systems and Environmental Science from Elsevier. These titles represent over 140 volumes in print, and the module will feature regular content updates.
CAB AbstractsAlso known as: |CABI CAB Abstracts (1910 to the present) includes international coverage of all aspects of agriculture, horticulture, animal production and forestry including: crop production, plant protection and breeding; forestry and forest products; soil science, land use and water management; animal husbandry, health, breeding, nutrition and parasitology; dairy science and technology, agricultural engineering; economics; rural development, sociology and education; leisure, recreation and tourism.
Environment CompleteCovers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Contains records from domestic and international journals going back to the 1950s as well as from selected monographs. Features an in-depth thesaurus, and author profiles. Also includes full text from a number of publications.
Three major newsletters (ClimateWire, EnergyWire, Greenwire) are updated daily. E&E also produces special in-depth topical reports such as: Global Climate Debate, Pipeline Politics, Drought, Islands, Arctic Drilling, etc. This database contains the archive of these publication, and provides the ability to do key word searches across the archive. Three or four years of older issues available as archives. More extensive descirptions of newsletters below:
ClimateWire provides coverage of the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society; covers key issues that surround the debate over climate change, including: Kyoto implementation; Post-Kyoto negotiations and nation-state positioning; International agency activities; Carbon market development; Alternative energy research and deployment; Financial community investment decisions; Corporate/multi-national response to climate concerns; Positions and lobbying by stakeholder groups; Consequences and lessons learned from GHG-reduction efforts; Latest science research and technology developments; Effects on water resources, species, ecosystems and agriculture; Trends and effects for traditional and non-traditional fossil fuel resources; Consequences for electric utilities; Economic effects; Costs to consumers; US Federal agency programs, legislation, policies and funding; State program development and implementation;
EnergyWire, launched in 2012, initially delivered deep, broad and insightful coverage of the business and political issues surrounding the rapidly expanding unconventional energy industry in the United States and around the world. In January 2014, E&E expanded EnergyWire to also cover the various developments that are transforming the electric utility industry, including the switch to natural gas, the growth of distributed energy, the need for significant infrastructure expansion and the flattening of demand. These factors and others confront the traditional utility business with significant uncertainty. Key issues covered by EnergyWire include: shale oil and gas development, liquefied natural gas (LNG), oil sands, deepwater and Arctic drilling, enhanced oil and gas recovery, and other emerging fossil energy sources; environmental concerns and the effects on water resources; the debates over regulatory authority and land and mineral rights; technology development; finance, mergers and acquisitions; pipelines, LNG terminals and other energy infrastructure; economic consequences; legislative and legal issues; global energy supply and geopolitical implications; grid stability and security; distributed generation and renewables;
renewable portfolio standards and carbon regulation; base-load fuel utilization and base-load facility retirement and replacement;
Greenwire is the leading information source for comprehensive, objective, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy, politics and markets. Greenwire's daily stories keep readers up-to-date on the energy and environmental landscape, including major U.S. regulations, legislation and court cases in play; also explains how the battle over energy policy and climate change is affecting investment trends, technology development and the capacity to deploy new fuel types, generating capacity and carbon mitigation strategies. In addition it covers a wide range of natural resource issues from endangered species to water issues.
Canadian NewsstreamIndexes and provides fulltext access to major Canadian newspapers. Full text is available for the articles and transcripts but graphical material (photos, illustrations, graphs, etc.) is excluded. Classified ads, advertisements, and stock market reports are also excluded.
Coverage extends to a large number of newspapers, including the following:
Calgary Herald (December 7, 1988- )
Edmonton Journal (March 10, 1989- )
Financial Post (January 5, 1985 - October 1998)
Globe and Mail (November 14, 1977 -)
Regina Leader Post (January 1, 2000 - )
Montreal Gazette (January 2, 1985- )
National Post (October 27, 1998- )
Ottawa Citizen (September 3, 1985- )
St. Catharines Standard (October 1, 1997- )
Saskatoon Star Phoenix (May 27, 1996- )
Vancouver Province (March 20, 1989- )
Vancouver Sun (January 2, 1987- )
Victoria Times Colonist (January 4, 1993- )
Windsor Star (October 20, 1986- )
Contains text in English and French / Français.
A supplementary dictionary of renewable energy and sustainabilityConsists of over 300 A to Z entries relating to these subjects, expanding on Oxford's coverage in works such as A Dictionary of Environment & Conservation. It includes key terms associated with fossil- and nuclear-fueled energy systems, renewable energy sources such as solar thermal, bioenergy, tidal power and wind power, and energy costings.
A Dictionary of Environment and ConservationThis dictionary contains over 8,500 entries on all aspects of the environment and conservation. International in scope, it embraces a broad spectrum of environmental areas including sustainable development, biodiversity, conservation, environmental ethics, philosophy, history, resource management, sociology, and environmental policy. In addition to its wide-ranging concise definitions, A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation includes longer key entries on topics such as Anatarctica, Gaia, hypothesis, genetic engineering, the Kyoto Protocol, and the United Nations Conference on Environmental Development. It address the social, legal, political, and economic aspects of the environment and conservation, as well as scientific terms. The dictionary is also supplemented with an invaluable selection of 10 appendices, including international hazard assessment scales (including the Beaufort scale, the Richter scale, and the Fujita tornado scale), the geologic timescale, and an appendix of useful websites for further study. Concise and wide-ranging, this is an essential work of reference for students and professionals, and anyone with an interest in the environment and conservation.
GreenFILEGreenFILE offers covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Environmental Studies: Gale in ContextAlso known as: |Global Reference On The Environment/Energy/And Natural Resources| Formerly known as |GREENR| This database focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment, and covers content in the areas of the environment, and energy and natural resources. Topics covered include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations.
GeoRefGeoRef (1785 to the present) includes international coverage of the
earth sciences and all aspects of geology and geophysics including archaeology,
fossils, economics, education, engineering and environmental geology,
expeditions, instruments, land use, landfills, soils, geologic hazards
(avalanches, hurricanes, sunsorts, volcanoes, etc.), maps, magnetic fields, and
medical and military geology.
Academic Search CompleteAlso known as: |Academic Search Premier| Academic Search Complete provides indexing and abstracts for a large number of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for a subset of these journals.
Contains text in Afrikaans, Albanian, Ancient Greek, Arabic, Azerbaijani, Basque, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Filipino, Flemish, French / Français, German, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Iranian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Latvian, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Malay, Modern Greek, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Serbo-Croatian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog, Turkish, Ukrainian and Urdu languages.
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries AbstractsASFA provides an index to the world's literature on the science, technology, management, and conservation of marine, brackish water, and freshwater resources and environments, including their socio-economic and legal aspects. Includes some full text content