Subject Guides: Statistical Sources: Government Statistical Databases

Government Statistical Databases

The primary collectors and producers of statistics are civic, provincial/state, national, and international governmental organizations. The websites listed below are a selection of governmental statistical databases (note the frequent overlap with the General Statistical Databases tab). For more detailed information regarding government documents and the availability of government statistics see:

Government Information
by Rutherford Library Last Updated Mar 22, 2024 1000 views this year

Governments, Local to Global

City of Edmonton
Statistics from the Edmonton Civic Census, Neighourhood Profiles, etc.
Government of Alberta
As the Government of Alberta's official statistics agency, the OSI collects and manages economic, population, social and geographic statistics and provides other statistical links and resources. In addition, keyword-search with statistics on the Government of Alberta webpage to find many other useful statistical publications.
Statistics Canada
Largest collector and publisher of Canadian statistics.
FirstGov
United States Government Documents website. Contains a wide variety of federal, state, and U.S. census statistics.
United Nations
The U.N. gathers and produces statistics on every topic from nearly every country in the world. The UNdata database provides a portal to most U.N. publications. For more specific statistical queries, the United Nations Statistics Division provides national and international statistics on many topics. It also provides links to national statistical yearbooks.

Intergovernmental and Nongovernmental

Most United Nations-affiliated organizations generate statistics related to their area of responsibility. To access statistics from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the World Trade Organization, or UNESCO, click on their direct link below. Other IGO and NGO statistical databases may be accessed through the U of A Library -- search for their names in the U of A Library Databases to verify availability.

SUBJECT LIBRARIAN

Anna Bombak

Email Me

Contact:

abombak@ualberta.ca