Subject Librarian
Denis Lacroix
Contact:
1-01G Rutherford South
University of Alberta Library
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2J4
Website
University of Alberta Library
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2J4
Subject Librarian
About This Guide
This guide is an introduction to finding resources for teaching Elementary and Secondary Social Studies in Alberta schools using sources and services available via the University of Alberta Library.
- Teacher's Book Bank This database of Canadian historical fiction and non-fiction books is brought to you by the Canadian Children's Book Centre with Historica Canada. These titles may be used by teachers to introduce topics and themes in Canadian history and by students carrying out research projects. Many of the books also offer opportunities for cross-curricular connections in language arts, geography, the arts, science and other subjects. In most cases, publishers have indicated specific grade levels and age ranges to guide selection.
LearnAlberta 7-12 Programs of Study & Resources
- Authorized Resources Database Link to the Authorized Resources Database available through Alberta Education.
- LearnAlberta.caFind programs of study, 4,000+ digital online resources, and authorized resources. Use the top yellow menu bar to select from Programs of study, Resource search, and Authorized resources. Use filters to browse by "language of resource," grade, subject, etc.
- Programs of Study: Social Studies (7-9) Alberta’s Kindergarten to Grade 12 curriculum is designed to help students achieve their individual potential and create a positive future. The provincial programs of study identify what students are expected to learn and do in all subjects and grades.
- Programs of Study: Social Studies (10-12) Alberta’s Kindergarten to Grade 12 curriculum is designed to help students achieve their individual potential and create a positive future. The provincial programs of study identify what students are expected to learn and do in all subjects and grades.
- Scope and sequence (grades k-9 and 10-12 ) for programs of study outlines the progression of concepts and highlights the connections between strands, topics, and grades
- Program Support Resources for grades 7-9, and 10-12 in Social Studies
- Alberta Regional Professional Development Consortia professional learning opportunities for teachers and pre-service teachers
Education Databases
Developing a search query can be a challenge. Here are some tips to help.
- Check out a database's Thesaurus to find appropriate keywords for the item for which you are looking.
- A longer search query helps databases retrieve more specific resources
- Using "OR" between terms will retrieve more results
- Using "AND" between terms will retrieve less results
- Education Multi-Database Search (ProQuest)Add Canad* or province name(s) to your search strategy as a separate concept to narrow the search results. (Canad* will search for Canadian or Canada.) For example: Canad* OR Alberta OR “British Columbia” OR “Prince Edward Island”...
- Education Research Complete Education Complete is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
- ERIC (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window ERIC (1966 to the present) covers all aspects of education, from preschool to post-secondary and adult education, and all topics within the broad discipline.
- Canadian Encyclopedia Online Online version of The Canadian Encyclopedia
- Canadiana Online Canadiana Online consists of monographs, journals and government publications. It captures the full span of Canada's documentary record, and includes material published from the time of the first European settlers to the first half of the 20th century and collections focused on Aboriginal (Indigenous) Studies, the history of French Canada, and the Hudson's Bay Company. Early Canadiana Online has been incorporated into this database in 2019.
- World History: Gale in Context Information on significant people, events, and topics in world history from a variety of sources.
- Canadian Newsstream Indexes and provides fulltext access to major Canadian newspapers. Full text is available for the articles and transcripts but graphical material (photos, illustrations, graphs, etc.) is excluded. Classified ads, advertisements, and stock market reports are also excluded.
Social Studies Associations and Journals
- Social education (Online)Internet Access: 1989-2000, 2009-
- Focus NewsletterPublished by the ATA Social Studies Council to keep members up to date with Social Studies education in Alberta.
- One WorldA professional journal for social studies teachers published by the Alberta Teachers' Association.