Check out the handout I gave out at the Spring 2016 URI mixer.
Some key databases
There are hundreds of databases from which to choose. Below is a list of a few good ones, but try checking out the library Subject Guides for the different research areas in which are you interested. Looking at more than one guide is often helpful.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAlso known as: |Academic Search Premier| Academic Search Complete provides indexing and abstracts for a large number of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for a subset of these journals.
Canadian NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowIndexes and provides fulltext access to major Canadian newspapers. Full text is available for the articles and transcripts but graphical material (photos, illustrations, graphs, etc.) is excluded. Classified ads, advertisements, and stock market reports are also excluded.
Coverage extends to a large number of newspapers, including the following:
Calgary Herald (December 7, 1988- )
Edmonton Journal (March 10, 1989- )
Financial Post (January 5, 1985 - October 1998)
Globe and Mail (November 14, 1977 -)
Regina Leader Post (January 1, 2000 - )
Montreal Gazette (January 2, 1985- )
National Post (October 27, 1998- )
Ottawa Citizen (September 3, 1985- )
St. Catharines Standard (October 1, 1997- )
Saskatoon Star Phoenix (May 27, 1996- )
Vancouver Province (March 20, 1989- )
Vancouver Sun (January 2, 1987- )
Victoria Times Colonist (January 4, 1993- )
Windsor Star (October 20, 1986- )
Contains text in English and French / Français.
PubMed (with links to UofA e-journals)This link opens in a new windowAlso known as: MEDLINE (PubMed version) PubMed (1946 to the present) covers the world's biomedical and health sciences journal literature. Includes links to full text licensed by the University of Alberta. Can be used on-campus, or off-campus with authentication using a University of Alberta CCID.