Current Chinese PeriodicalsCurrent Japanese PeriodicalsCurrent Korean PeriodicalsEarly (pre-1949) Chinese periodicalsEarly Japanese Periodicals
Chinese Web ResourcesJapanese Web ResourcesKorean Web ResourcesNortheast Japan-Pacific Ocean Earthquake, March 2011
This is the "Home" page of the "East Asian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

East Asian Studies  

Last Updated: Feb 26, 2015 URL: http://guides.library.ualberta.ca/east-asian-studies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases for Original Language Resources

Scripta Sinica (Chinese) 
   Full text of over 460 sets of works for cultural China studies. Taisho shinshu Daizokyo is included.
 

CAJ and Century Journals Social Sciences (Chinese)
   Full text of over 600 journals and magazines. Importing to RefWorks

CiNii Articles & CiNii Books (formerly GeNII) (Japanese) 
   Group of partially full text databases from Japan

Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS) (Chinese) 
   Full text of journals and magazines from Taiwan

JapanKnowledge Plus (Japanese)
   Database of mainly reference books, including Encyclopedia of Japan in English

Ming Pao Monthly (Ming bao yue kan) (Chinese)
   2-disc DVD database (not online) of the journal, with manual: 1966-2011 issues

Chinese Cultural Revolution Database (Chinese)
   Primary sources of the Cultural Revolution

China Data Online (bilingual)
   Database of statistics of China

Chinese Pamphlets (Chinese)
   Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in mainland China

Shen bao (Shen Pao) (Chinese) 
   Full text with corresponding newspaper images of the newspaper, 1872-1949

 

Other Databases Useful for East Asian Studies

MLA International Bibliography
   For literature, languages, linguistics and folklore of the West and the East, usually with links to full text.

JSTOR  
   Full text archives of over 1,000 academic journals in the humanities, social sciences and science, providing complete backfiles

Academic Search Complete
   Mainly full text access to thousands of journals in all disciplines; peer-reviewed journals may be specified in search

Linguistics Abstracts
   Access to over 63,000 abstracts from over 600 linguistics journals published since 1985

Humanities International Complete 
   Cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and books, with many full text resources

Historical Abstracts with Full Text 
   World history from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada

ACLS Humanities E-book 
   Over 2,000 digitized books in the humanities recommended by scholars and learned societies

History Resource Center: World 
  Collection of reference, full text articles from scholarly publications, plus an array of primary sources, images, maps and charts

WorldCat 
  "WorldCat connects you to the collections and services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide"

 

Newspapers

Factiva 

Includes some major newspapers of China (including Hong Kong), Japan and South Korea. SCMP of Hong Kong is available.

NewspaperDirect Library Press Display

This database displays full pages of numerous newspapers, covering some papers from East Asia as well.

Naver News Library

This is a full text database of four major Korean newspapers: Dong-A ilbo, Kyunghyang Shinmun, Maeil Business Newspaper and The Hankyoreh. Coverage: 1920-1999

 

 

 

An Overview

 The East Asian Collection

      Books, journals, newspapers, audio-visual materials (DVD-videos, etc.), maps, electronic resources like CD-ROMs on East Asian Studies are located mainly in Rutherford Library and Cameron Library, where users may find resources in Chinese, Japanese and Korean, as well as resources in English and other languages.

Floor guide to Rutherford Library

     Books and other resources on education, health sciences and law of East Asia written in English and other European languages are mostly located in Education Library, Health Sciences Library and Law Library respectively.

     Many pre-1990 books and journal issues are housed in the off-campus Book and Record Depository (BARD). These BARD resources need to be requested online via the library catalogue.

     In order to be sure whether the resources you need are held in the University Libraries, it is always advisable to search the library catalogue to obtain full holdings and location information.

     The Guide to Catalogue Searching for EA Resources may help you in your search for resources in the original languages.

 

New Library Materials in East Asian Studies

汉字中的人文之美 Han zi zhong de ren wen zhi mei 

汉字中的自然之美 Han zi zhong de zi ran zhi mei 

汉字中的生活之美 Han zi zhong de sheng huo zhi mei 

汉字中的符号之美 Han zi zhong de fu hao zhi mei 

大唐泰斗 : 韩愈 / 河阳柳著 Da Tang tai dou : Han Yu 

唐宋词的女性化特征演变史 Tang Song ci de nü xing hua te zheng yan bian shi 

古典诗歌吟诵九讲 Gu dian shi ge yin song jiu jiang 

汉字字音演变大字典 Han zi zi yin yan bian da zi dian = Dictionary of phonetic evolution of Chinese characters 

汉语音韵 ; 音韵学初步 Han yu yin yun ; Yin yun xue chu bu  

從利瑪竇到海德格 : 跨文化脈絡下的中西哲學互動 Cong Limadou dao Haidege : kua wen hua mai luo xia de Zhong xi zhe xue hu dong 

敦煌壁画复原精品集 Dunhuang bi hua fu yuan jing pin ji

東アジア歴史教科書問題の構図 : 日本·中国·台湾·韓国, および在日朝鮮人学校 Higashi Ajia rekishi kyōkasho mondai no kōzu : Nihon, Chūgoku, Taiwan, Kankoku, oyobi zainichi Chōsenjin gakkō

源氏物語引歌綜覧 Genji monogatari hikiuta sōran 

밤 이 지나 간다 : 편 혜영 소설집 Pam i china kanda : P'yŏn Hye-yŏng sosŏlchip 

이 효석 문학상 수상 작품집 2013 Yi Hyo-sŏk Munhaksang susang chakp'umjip 2013 

실전 모의 고사 TOPIK master : final actual test

East Asian Librarian Intern

Profile Image
Mengjia Zhang
Contact Info
1-01 Rutherford South
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB, Canada, T6G 2J8
780-492-1411

Drop-In Hours & Location: Monday 10:00am -12:30pm on Rutherford North 1st Floor
Send Email
 

Films on Demand: Digital Educational Video

Films on Demand
   Contains videos on various subjects including Asia Pacific. Many films are from the company Films for the Humanities & Sciences.

 

Databases for Asian Studies in English

Bibliography of Asian Studies
   Citation database for Western-language journal articles and book chapters since 1971

Asian American Drama 
   Contains over 200 plays by Asian American playwrights

Asia-Studies Full-text Online
   Socio-economic and political reports on over 50 Asia Pacific countries and areas

Asia-Studies Humanities
   Reports and various resources on the humanities and the arts

China: Trade, Politics & Culture, 1793-1980 
   Primary sources relating to China and the West, 1793-1980, including illustrations and maps

Meiji Japan: The Edward Sylvester Morse Collection 
   Papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925), known for his book Japan Day by Day

 China: Culture and Society 
   2,000 searchable rare pamphlets from the C. W. Watson Collection in Cornell University Library, ca. 1750-1929.

China, America and the Pacific: Trade & Cultural Exchange 
   Manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps from the 1700s to the early 20th century.

Foreign Office Files for China - 1919-1937, 1949-1980 
   British Foreign Office Files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan.

 

Dissertations & Theses Databases

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses 

Doctoral dissertations and master's theses of North American and European institutions. Most works submitted since November 1996 have online full text.

Index to Theses 

"A comprehensive listing of theses with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in Great Britain and Ireland since 1716."

Theses Canada Portal 

Open database from Library and Archives Canada (the national library of Canada) for accessing Canadian dissertations and theses.

Dissertations & Theses @ University Of Alberta

This collection contains theses and dissertations of graduate students of the University of Alberta submitted since Spring 2009.

 
  

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip