Skip to main content
Library

UA Library Search Guide

Research tools and resources explained

 

version française

What are you searching?
The main search box on the library website says "Search the Library". What does that mean?  
⇒It searches for print and ebook holdings in the NEOS Libraries catalogue AND ~300 databases AND the Education and Research Archive (ERA) all in one search.
⇒ List of databases enabled in EDS

EDS EBSCO Discovery System - All in one search



U of A students and staff will be prompted to authenticate with CCID & password after beginning their search. This allows access to ebooks, ejournals, and other online materials that the library subscribes to. 

Alumni, public, TAL and guest patrons can find books using our Public Catalogue link above the main search bar (scroll down for a screen shot).


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click the 'Limit your search to the library catalogue" box to only receive results for physical items and Ebooks in the NEOS catalogue.

 

Guests and Members of the Public can look up library holdings using the Public Catalogue link above the search box.

 

Limiting your search to find Ebooks:

Limiters are located on the left of the results page. In this case, limit the Publication Type to 'Ebooks' --and the Location to 'University of Alberta Internet'.

 

Accessing an Ebook through the full catalogue record:

Scroll down to find the University of Alberta Access link for access.

 

There are various ways to limit searches, including to all or parts of the library catalogue. Need help?

HELP: EBSCO Discovery Help Files  OR

Ask Us

Find Databases. Use a discipline-related database to help focus your search.

Find Databases

What are you searching?

  • The list of databases that the UA Library subscribes to in order to access content best-suited for your topic.

Databases focus on the literature of a specific discipline and may include:

  • Journal articles
  • Conference proceedings
  • Book chapters
  • Numeric data, images, audio & video

Find the databases that work for you:

  • Use a Subject Guide to identify useful databases. The guide will also identify your Subject Librarian, who can provide further research support.
  • Search the Databases List alphabetically or by name
  • Not all databases are the same. Some disciplines will have specific features that will help you narrow down your topic in the most appropriate way. For example: history databases can search by time period, chemistry databases can search by molecular structure, psychology databases can search by methodology.

HELP: Ask Us for help with identifying useful databases, search strategies, and research resources.

Ask Us

Use our eJournal Search to:

  • Find out if the library subscribes to a specific journal
  • See what years/volumes the library has access to for a particular journal 
  • Search or browse for a specific article within a single journal or issue

Please note: If you are searching for information on a given topic, then you should search in one of our many databases, the library's main search bar (EBSCO Discovery), or check out our many subject guides. 

About eJournal Searching

Many search options are available when using the library's ejournal search interface: 

  1. Starts with: Use this option when you know the whole name of the journal or its starting words (you may be prompted with possible titles)
  2. Contains: Use this option when you know some of the words in the title
  3. Citation search: Find a specific article or journal using its citation information 
  4. Popular journals: Browse our top 20 most searched journals
  5. Browse by subject: Click on the drop-down menu to see a list of journal subjects
  6. Browse by provider (publisher): Click on the drop-down menu to see a list of journal publishers
  7. Peer-Review Limiter: Check this box to limit your search results to peer-reviewed journals
  8. Browse By Title: Browse journal titles by numeric or alphabetical beginnings

 

 

Example: Searching by eJournal Title

When you know the full name of the journal, enter the full name of the journal and select "starts with" to do your search, making sure to pay attention to spelling. 

The record example below indicates that The Canadian Journal of Native Studies is peer-reviewed, and our subscription provides you with online access from 2005 to the present. Limited open-access content is also available from 1981 to 2010. To access the online journal, click on a green available online access link that corresponds with the date range that you need.

Clicking on the first access link, Online Access via Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database, will direct you to the issues of this journal from 2005 to the present, where you can search within the journal by article title or keywords, or browse by journal volume or issue number.

Please note that different journal holdings have different search interfaces and options.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

 

Reach into the collections of:

  • UA Library
  • other libraries worldwide
  • Subscription Databases
  • Open Access collections
  • and more...

For Current UA Students, Staff, Faculty
Instructions to turn on UALibrary "Get It" links:

  • Use this link to Google Scholar
  • Click on google scholar Menu Icon
  • Select "Settings"
  • Select "Library Links"
  • Search "University of Alberta Library"
  • Check off the box beside University of Alberta Library - GetIt @ UAlberta
  • Click Save

 

HELP:

Ask Us

 

Subjects: MULTIDISCIPLINARY