Free and Discounted Open Access Publishing
There are many Article Processing Charge (APC) discounts and waivers available to U of A researchers. If you are interested in publishing your research Open Access, please look at the Article Processing Charge Support page.
Evaluating Information
Use the CRAAP Test
Currency - Is it timely?
Relevance - Useful for your purposes?
Authority - Who? What is the source?
Accuracy - References to back it up?
Purpose - Why? Is there a bias?
More detailed information on the CRAAP Test
Library Tutorial
Library Skills for 2nd Year Biological Sciences
This tutorial covers library skills required for students in 200-level Biological Sciences courses. Learn how to identify sources of information, navigate journal articles and search for literature.
Databases for Finding Articles
- Web of Science - All DatabasesA major multidisciplinary database for the sciences and the social sciences, as well as a great research metrics tool.
Note: Web of Science - All Databases to simultaneously search Web of Science, MEDLINE, BIOSIS and Zoological Record.
Interdisciplinary Science Databases
- ScopusThe world's largest interdisciplinary literature index, including over 67 million journal records. Especially strong in science, engineering, technology, and medicine.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is the largest interdisciplinary database. Make sure to use simple searches for the best results.
Health Sciences Databases
- PubMed (with links to UofA e-journals)A database comprising more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Peer Reviewed Journals
To determine whether a journal is peer reviewed, search for it in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory and look for the little referee symbol: 
.
