CSE Citation Style
Scientific Style and Format (Online)Citation guidelines for Council of Science Editors (CSE) style.
Finding dissertations
- Dissertations & Theses @ University of Alberta This content of this database is a subset of Dissertations and Theses Global, covering University of Alberta publications from 1954 through 2014. Full text is available for many, but not all, titles. NOTE: UofA no longer contributes content to this database. See also: Electronic Theses and Dissertations (University of Alberta).
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index Also known as:|Dissertations and Theses Global|. Includes contributions from North American graduate schools and European universities. Coverage begins with the first U.S. dissertation accepted in 1861. UofA theses and dissertations are included from 1954 through 2014, with full text available for many, but not all, titles. NOTE: UofA no longer contributes content to this database.
- Theses Canada Portal This site is a collaboration between Library and Archives Canada and Canadian universities. It provides free access to the full text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
Check out this library guide for more Dissertations & Theses
Key Collections
- SpringerNature Experiments
This database brings together a collection of experimental protocols and methods, with content from the former Springer Protocols database, as well as from the journals Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, and Nature Reviews Methods Primers.
- Taylor & Francis eBooksTaylor & Francis eBooks now include the CRC Press ebook collections (formerly CRCnetBASE).
eBooks: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks
- A Dictionary of Biology
Highly recommended dictionary of over 4,500 terms & concepts, with clear and concise entries provide comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry. - A Dictionary of Genetics
A unique dictionary of over 7,000 terms & concepts in genetics. - The Dictionary of Cell & Molecular Biology
Provides definitions for 12,000 terms used in the study of cell and molecular biology. - Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
A comprehensive survey of current biochemistry and molecular biology, containing over 21,000 main entries. - Using the Biological Literature: A Practical Guide
An annotated guide to important resources in the biological sciences. - Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Citable reviews in the life sciences covering many topics and themes.
Open Textbooks
The following are online open textbooks that you can access for free to supplement the textbooks in your courses. To learn more about open textbooks visit the Open Educational Resources guide.
- Concepts of BiologyConcepts of Biology is designed for the typical introductory biology course for nonmajors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements. The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand. The book is designed to demonstrate biology concepts and to promote scientific literacy.
- Biology 2eBiology 2e is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens.
- MicrobiologyMicrobiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health.
eJournal Collections
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access JournalsFree, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly open access journals in all subjects and languages
- Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) eJournals This link opens in a new windowComplete archive of all RSC journals
- Springer Nature Link (formerly SpringerLink)Complete archive of all journals from Springer-Verlag and associated publishers