CPS Full AccessThis link opens in a new windowCPS Full Access (formerly RxTx3) includes the most current, evidence-based therapeutic information and non-prescription therapy for most common conditions, with cross-referenced drug tables and algorithms. Includes CPS Drug Information, critical updates such as warnings, advisories, and drug shortages; and useful tools.
LexicompThis link opens in a new windowLexi-Comp is a comprehensive drug information tool for use at the point of care. It contains clinical modules with information about drug interactions, identification, calculations, toxicology, and patient education. The indexes provide current generic and brand names for drugs used in the United States, Canada, and internationally for adult, paediatric, and geriatric populations. Natural product, infectious disease, and lab test information is also included.
Drug Product Database (DPD)This link opens in a new windowThe DPD contains product specific information on drugs approved for use in Canada. The database is managed by the Therapeutic Products Programme and includes human, veterinary and disinfectant products.
It contains approximately 20,000 marketed products. Information available in the database includes Brand Name, DIN, Company, Ingredient(s), Route of Administration, Pharmaceutical Form, Package Sizes, Therapeutic Classification, Pharmaceutical Standard and Veterinary Species. TPP recently completed an enhancement to the Drug Product Database which provides for the grouping of products based on active ingredients.
TOXNETThis link opens in a new windowToxnet is the U.S. National Library of Medicine cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous materials, and related topics.
Coverage includes all currently marketed drugs, pharmacological tools, compounds in the later stages of clinical trials and pharmaceutical excipients. As part of the Chapman & Hall/CRC Chemical Dictionary series, its standard features include concise chemical data, accurately drawn structure diagrams and bibliographic information.
Books and Other Reference Sources
Mosby's Dental Drug Reference by Arthur H. JeskeIdeal for chairside use by the entire dental team, Mosby's Dental Drug Reference, 11th Edition, provides the current, concise, dental-specific drug information you need at the point of care. More than 850 drug monographs make it easy to find indications and dosages, contraindications, interactions, side effects, serious reactions, and dental considerations. A companion website adds regular drug updates, a full-color pill atlas, printable patient education handouts, reference tables, and more. More than 850 drug monographs offer the vital dental-specific drug information you need. Drug information with relevant patient and family education guidelines in each monograph emphasize oral health, prevention, and treatment from the dental hygiene perspective. Durable and pocket sized, a succinct and organized format makes this guide ideal for chairside use. Bulleted lists provide quick and easy access to general and specific dental-related information in each monograph. . Primers on therapeutic management of common diseases and on medically compromised patients offer key foundational information relevant to the treatment of all patients. New monographs, FDA updates, a color pill atlas, images of common pathologic conditions, patient education handouts, quick-reference guides, and more are available online to help keep this guide compact and user-friendly. Nearly 60 new drug monographs provide need-to-know information for a variety of recently approved drugs with considerations dental team members need to know relative to the oral health care of their patients. Companion website with annual drug updates, as well as ancillary content, keeps you current in the ever-changing world of pharmacology.