Top Newspaper Multi-Title Databases for today's news
News & NewspapersThis database provides access to the contents of several ProQuest newspaper collections. Included is the current and archival content of five major U.S. Daily newspapers (Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post) as well as the archives of these and over 40 other newspapers, including the Globe & Mail and the Toronto Star.
International. Today's news with archives typically to 1980s. Some archives to 1960s
Factiva also provides American congressional committee hearings, publications of selected U.S. government departments and agencies,The Federal Register and state laws and regulations, publications of U.S. government watchdog organizations, and selected international government publications.
This collection features daily and weekly newspapers from various communities in Alberta from 1885 - 2001. Materials were scanned from microfilm and microfiche.
Peel's Prairie ProvincesPeel's Prairie Provinces is a resource dedicated to assisting scholars, students, and researchers of all types in their exploration of western Canadian history and the culture of the Canadian prairies. This website contains both an online bibliography of books, pamphlets, and other materials related to the development of the Prairies, as well as a searchable full-text collection of many of these items.
The Center for Research Libraries' holdings of almost 5 million items
include monographs, newspapers, serials, archival materials in microform, and
microform sets. CRL also holds several significant collections for which records
do not appear in the catalogue.
These uncatalogued collections include: dissertations from universities outside of the U.S. and Canada (700,000 titles); U.S. state publications (1.2 million volumes); U.S. and foreign college catalogues (241,000 volumes); textbooks (85,000 volumes); and foreign documents (33,000 volumes). Information on all of these collections is available in the CRL Handbook, available in the Humanities and Social Sciences Reference
area at call number Z 733 C397 1990.
As a member of the Center for Research Libraries, the University of Alberta Library System is able to offer its patrons extended interlibrary loan service from the entire CRL collection, including many items not available for loan from other institutions (e.g. newspapers). The loan period is 4 months, with the option to renew for as long as needed, subject to recall after 2 weeks if requested by another reader.