Subject Guides: Newspapers: Home

Newspapers Worldwide - usually current 90 days or less

PressReader This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the daily editions of national and international newspapers and magazines.
Restrictions:
- PressReader access to The Globe & Mail newspaper is only available on campus. Click here for ON CAMPUS Access.
- For off-campus access to The Globe & Mail, please see Canadian Newsstream, CPI.Q or Factiva

Top Newspaper Multi-Title Databases for today's news

Canadian Newsstream
Over 400+ newspapers. Most updated daily and some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s. Full text is available for the articles but graphical material (photos, illustrations) are excluded. Classified ads, advertisements, and stock market reports are also excluded. To check the availability of a specific newspaper use the Publications link.
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.
Canadian Newsstream coverage extends to a large number of newspapers, including the following:
- Calgary Herald (December 7, 1988- )
- Edmonton Journal (March 10, 1989- )
- Financial Post (January 5, 1985 - October 1998)
- Globe and Mail (November 14, 1977 -)
- Regina Leader Post (January 1, 2000 - )
- Montreal Gazette (January 2, 1985- )
- National Post (October 27, 1998- )
- Ottawa Citizen (September 3, 1985- )
- St. Catharines Standard (October 1, 1997- )
- Saskatoon Star Phoenix (May 27, 1996- )
- Vancouver Province (March 20, 1989- )
- Vancouver Sun (January 2, 1987- )
- Victoria Times Colonist (January 4, 1993- )
- Windsor Star (October 20, 1986- )
  
  Contains text in English and French / Français.
US Major Daily Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of the |Chicago Tribune| (from 1985), the |Los Angeles Times| (from 1985), the |New York Times| (from 1980), the |Wall Street Journal| (from 1984), and the |Washington Post| (from 1987). Citation/abstract coverage for earlier years.
ProQuest - All News & Newspaper Databases
Over 1000+ newspapers in ProQuest databases (Canadian Newsstream, U.S. Major Dailies, Recent and Historical archives). To check the availability of a specific newspaper use the Publications link.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
International. Today's news with archives typically to 1980s. Some archives to 1960s
Eureka.cc
Canada, United States, International. 7000 news sources: Press, transcripts of Television and Radio, Social media. Archives typically to 1990s. 24 hr embargo. Switch between French and English search interface in the upper right hand corner.
Proquest - All Databases
Use this link to cross-search over 100 databases. Change the source type to Newspapers. To check the availability of a specific newspaper use the Publications link.
Canadian Reference Centre
Domestic and international (approx 150 titles). Choose publication type "newspaper." Subject search for images
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.

Top Historic Newspapers

Gale Primary Sources
An integrated research platform that allows searching across Gale primary source collections.
Peel's Prairie Provinces Peel's Prairie Provinces is a resource dedicated to assisting scholars, students, and researchers of all types in their exploration of western Canadian history and the culture of the Canadian prairies. This website contains both an online bibliography of books, pamphlets, and other materials related to the development of the Prairies, as well as a searchable full-text collection of many of these items.

Google News - all newspapers
Incomplete archives

Center for Research Libraries Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries' holdings of almost 5 million items
include monographs, newspapers, serials, archival materials in microform, and
microform sets. CRL also holds several significant collections for which records
do not appear in the catalogue.
These uncatalogued collections include: dissertations from universities outside of the U.S. and Canada (700,000 titles); U.S. state publications (1.2 million volumes); U.S. and foreign college catalogues (241,000 volumes); textbooks (85,000 volumes); and foreign documents (33,000 volumes). Information on all of these collections is available in the CRL Handbook, available in the Humanities and Social Sciences Reference
area at call number Z 733 C397 1990.

As a member of the Center for Research Libraries, the University of Alberta Library System is able to offer its patrons extended interlibrary loan service from the entire CRL collection, including many items not available for loan from other institutions (e.g. newspapers). The loan period is 4 months, with the option to renew for as long as needed, subject to recall after 2 weeks if requested by another reader.

Ask Us

Rutherford Library

Contact:

Rutherford Library
11208 89 Ave
Edmonton AB T6G 2G5

Email Us

780-492-5791