Applied Linguistics
General Databases & Journals
Relevant Subject Guides
Select Journals
-
Association for Computational Linguistics (ACL) Anthology The ACL Anthology currently hosts 53826 papers on the study of computational linguistics and natural language processing.
-
Computational Linguistics Computational Linguistics is the longest-running publication devoted exclusively to the computational and mathematical properties of language and the design and analysis of natural language processing systems. This highly regarded quarterly offers university and industry linguists, computational linguists, artificial intelligence and machine learning investigators, cognitive scientists, speech specialists, and philosophers the latest information about the computational aspects of all the facets of research on language.
Select Books
-
Handbook of linguistic annotation
This handbook offers a thorough treatment of the science of linguistic annotation. Leaders in the field guide the reader through the process of modeling, creating an annotation language, building a corpus and evaluating it for correctness. Essential reading for both computer scientists and linguistic researchers.
Linguistic annotation is an increasingly important activity in the field of computational linguistics because of its critical role in the development of language models for natural language processing applications. Part one of this book covers all phases of the linguistic annotation process, from annotation scheme design and choice of representation format through both the manual and automatic annotation process, evaluation, and iterative improvement of annotation accuracy. The second part of the book includes case studies of annotation projects across the spectrum of linguistic annotation types, including morpho-syntactic tagging, syntactic analyses, a range of semantic analyses (semantic roles, named entities, sentiment and opinion), time and event and spatial analyses, and discourse level analyses including discourse structure, co-reference, etc. Each case study addresses the various phases and processes discussed in the chapters of part one.
ISBN: 9789402408812
Select Journals
Select Books
-
The New Psychology of Language
From the point of view of psychology and cognitive science, much of modern linguistics is too formal and mathematical to be of much use. "The New Psychology of Language" volumes broke new ground by introducing functional and cognitive approaches to language structure in terms already familiar to psychologists, thus defining the next era in the scientific study of language. The "Classic Edition" volumes re-introduce some of the most important cognitive and functional linguists working in the field.
ISBN: 1317693523 -
Psycholinguistics: Introduction and Applications, Second Edition
ISBN: 1597569380 -
Introduction to Psycholinguistics
by
The new edition of the popular introduction to the field of psycholinguistics, providing a solid foundation for understanding how people produce and comprehend language Introduction to Psycholinguistics: Understanding Language Science, Second Edition, presents a comprehensive overview of the cognitive processes involved in language acquisition, production, and comprehension. Balancing depth and accessibility, this bestselling textbook adopts a multidisciplinary approach to the study of language that incorporates perspectives from psychology, linguistics, philosophy, computer science, neurology, neurophysiology, and related fields. Student-friendly chapters explain the core components of speech, discuss how the brain receives and applies the basic building blocks of language, review leading research in psycholinguistics, describe the experimental evidence behind major theories, and more. Fully updated to incorporate recent developments in the field, the second edition of Introduction to Psycholinguistics includes a new section devoted to language and cognitive disorders, two entirely new chapters on language as aspects of autism and schizophrenia, updated illustrations and learning objectives, and new coverage of language acquisition, the cognitive neuroscience of language, bilingualism, and sign language. This valuable textbook: Reviews leading research and theory in psycholinguistics, including in-depth descriptions of the experimental evidence behind theories Describes phonology, morphology, semantics, syntax, pragmatics, and other key components of language Covers bilingualism, second-language acquisition, sign language comprehension, reading comprehension, and non-literal language interpretation Discusses cognitive disorders such as autism, aphasia, schizophrenia, and specific language impairment (SLI) Offers clear learning objectives, engaging thought exercises, chapter review questions, and step-by-step explanations of all key concepts Provides resources for instructors and students, including a companion website with review exercises, quizzes, PowerPoint slides, test banks, and other supplementary materials Introduction to Psycholinguistics: Understanding Language Science, Second Edition, is an excellent textbook for upper-level undergraduate courses in psycholinguistics, language processing, and cognitive or communication disorders, as well as related courses in psychology, linguistics, cognitive science, neuroscience, language education, and computational linguistics.
ISBN: 9781119852964 -
The Handbook of Psycholinguistics
by
Incorporating approaches from linguistics and psychology, The Handbook of Psycholinguistics explores language processing and language acquisition from an array of perspectives and features cutting edge research from cognitive science, neuroscience, and other related fields. The Handbook provides readers with a comprehensive review of the current state of the field, with an emphasis on research trends most likely to determine the shape of psycholinguistics in the years ahead. The chapters are organized into three parts, corresponding to the major areas of psycholinguists: production, comprehension, and acquisition. The collection of chapters, written by a team of international scholars, incorporates multilingual populations and neurolinguistic dimensions. Each of the three sections also features an overview chapter in which readers are introduced to the different theoretical perspectives guiding research in the area covered in that section. Timely, comprehensive, and authoritative, The Handbook of Psycholinguistics is a valuable addition to the reference shelves of researchers in psychology, linguistics, and cognitive science, as well as advanced undergraduates and graduate students interested in how language works in the human mind and how language is acquired.
ISBN: 9781118829547
Select Journals
Select Books
-
The Oxford Handbook of Neurolinguistics
by
Neurolinguistics is a young and highly interdisciplinary field, with influences from psycholinguistics, psychology, aphasiology, and (cognitive) neuroscience, as well as other fields. Neurolinguistics, like psycholinguistics, covers aspects of language processing; but unlike psycholinguistics,it draws on data from patients with damage to language processing capacities, or the use of modern neuroimaging technologies such as fMRI, TMS, or both. The burgeoning interest in neurolinguistics reflects that an understanding of the neural bases of this data can inform more biologically plausiblemodels of the human capacity for language.The Oxford Handbook of Neurolinguistics provides concise overviews of this rapidly-growing field, and engages a broad audience with an interest in the neurobiology of language. The chapters do not attempt to provide exhaustive coverage, but rather present discussions of prominent questions posed bygiven topics. The volume opens with essential methodological chapters: Section I, Methods, covers the key techniques and technologies used to study the neurobiology of language today, with chapters structured along the basic divisions of the field. Section II addresses the neurobiology of languageacquisition during healthy development and in response to challenges presented by congenital and acquired conditions. Section III covers the many facets of our articulate brain, or speech-language pathology, and the capacity for language production-written, spoken, and signed. Questions regardinghow the brain comprehends meaning, including emotions at word and discourse levels, are addressed in Section IV. Finally, Section V reaches into broader territory, characterizing and contextualizing the neurobiology of language with respect to more fundamental neuroanatomical mechanisms and generalcognitive domains.
ISBN: 9780190672027 -
Neurolinguistic Programming in Clinical Settings
by
Neurolinguistic Programming in Clinical Settings provides a theoretical framework for the clinical applications of Neurolinguistic Programming (NLP) protocols in mental health. It offers evidence-based models for a range of conditions; including PTSD, anxiety and depression, grief, phobias, and binge-eating. Providing a follow up to the 2014 book The Clinical Effectiveness of Neurolinguistic Programming, this book updates the existing research evidence for NLP interventions with mental health clinical conditions. It includes further evidence for its use with somatoform disorders, anxiety and depression, and as a general psychotherapy modality. The book outlines up-to-date evidence from clinical trials that demonstrate the success rate of NLP with PTSD populations and discusses how ongoing randomised clinical trials at Kings College London are demonstrating the clinical effectiveness of NLP protocols and are becoming more widely accepted by mainstream mental health care. Written by a team of internationally academically informed clinicians and researchers, the book will be key reading for academics, researchers, and post-graduate students in the field of mental health research, psychotherapy, and counselling. It will also be of interest to clinicians and mental health professionals interested in NLP as a therapeutic modality.
ISBN: 9781003198864 -
Neurolinguistics
by
An accessible introduction to the study of language in the brain, covering language processing, language acquisition, literacy, and language disorders. Neurolinguistics, the study of language in the brain, describes the anatomical structures (networks of neurons in the brain) and physiological processes (ways for these networks to be active) that allow humans to learn and use one or more languages. It draws on neuroscience, linguistics-particularly theoretical linguistics-and other disciplines. In this volume in the MIT Press Essential Knowledge series, Giosu Baggio offers an accessible introduction to the fundamentals of neurolinguistics, covering language processing, language acquisition, literacy, and speech and language disorders. Baggio first surveys the evolution of the field, describing discoveries by Paul Broca, Carl Wernicke, Noam Chomsky, and others. He discusses mapping language in "brain time" and "brain space" and the constraints of neurolinguistic models. Considering language acquisition, he explains that a child is never a "blank slate"- infants and young children are only able to acquire specific aspects of language in specific stages of cognitive development. He addresses the neural consequences of bilingualism; literacy, discussing how forms of visual language in the brain differ from forms of auditory language; aphasia and the need to understand language disorders in behavioral, functional, and neuroanatomical terms; neurogenetics of language; and the neuroethology of language, tracing the origins of the neural and behavioral building blocks of human linguistic communication to the evolution of avian, mammalian, and primate brains.
ISBN: 9780262543262 -
The Handbook of the Neuroscience of Multilingualism
by
The definitive guide to 21st century investigations of multilingual neuroscience The Handbook of the Neuroscience of Multilingualism provides a comprehensive survey of neurocognitive investigations of multiple-language speakers. Prominent scholar John W. Schwieter offers a unique collection of works from globally recognized researchers in neuroscience, psycholinguistics, neurobiology, psychology, neuroimaging, and others, to provide a multidisciplinary overview of relevant topics. Authoritative coverage of state-of-the-art research provides readers with fundamental knowledge of significant theories and methods, language impairments and disorders, and neural representations, functions, and processes of the multilingual brain. Focusing on up-to-date theoretical and experimental research, this timely handbook explores new directions of study and examines significant findings in the rapidly evolving field of multilingual neuroscience. Discussions on the bilingual advantage debate, recovery and rehabilitation patterns in multilingual aphasia, and the neurocognitive effects of multilingualism throughout the lifespan allow informed investigation of contemporary issues. Presents the first handbook-length examination of the neuroscience and neurolinguistics of multilingualism Demonstrates how neuroscience and multilingualism intersect several areas of research, such as neurobiology and experimental psychology Includes works from prominent international scholars and researchers to provide global perspective Reflects cutting-edge research and promising areas of future study in the dynamic field of multilingual neuroscience The Handbook of the Neuroscience of Multilingualism is an invaluable resource for researchers and scholars in areas including multilingualism, psycholinguistics, second language acquisition, and cognitive science. This versatile work is also an indispensable addition to the classroom, providing advanced undergraduate and graduate students a thorough overview of the field.
ISBN: 9781119387749
Background Information
-
A Glossary of Applied Linguistics
Applied Linguistics is still a growing field. Key texts and handbooks have appeared in recent years and international applied linguistics conferences and professional associations occur regularly. While Applied Linguistics continues to attract new entrants and to generate new strands of research, there is a need for a clear and concise map of the field. This is the purpose of the Glossary. The author, Alan Davies, is a well-established, well-published authority on applied linguistics. Not a typically dry dictionary, Dr. Davies infuses the alphabetical entries with a touch of humor and thought-provoking context creating an up-to-date, useful, and coherent view of applied linguistics. The Glossary compiles the most ubiquitously used terms in applied linguistics and teacher-training literature. It takes a wide-ranging view of the field, drawing not only on linguistics but including psychology, sociology, education, measurement theory, speech therapy, translation, and language planning. Other features include: *numerous cross-references to key terms; *an introduction, which discusses the difficulty of defining applied linguistics; and *a brief reading list of key text. The primary market is master's student in Applied Linguistics, Second Language Acquisition, and TESL/TEFL. Undergraduate students, particularly in language fields and in education will also find it helpful, as well as language teachers who have not themselves followed Applied Linguistics courses and who are interested in finding out about the field.
-
The Concise Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics
by
Offers a wide-ranging overview of the issues and research approaches in the diverse field of applied linguistics Applied linguistics is an interdisciplinary field that identifies, examines, and seeks solutions to real-life language-related issues. Such issues often occur in situations of language contact and technological innovation, where language problems can range from explaining misunderstandings in face-to-face oral conversation to designing automated speech recognition systems for business. The Concise Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics includes entries on the fundamentals of the discipline, introducing readers to the concepts, research, and methods used by applied linguists working in the field. This succinct, reader-friendly volume offers a collection of entries on a range of language problems and the analytic approaches used to address them. This abridged reference work has been compiled from the most-accessed entries from The Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics (www.encyclopediaofappliedlinguistics.com), the more extensive volume which is available in print and digital format in 1000 libraries spanning 50 countries worldwide. Alphabetically-organized and updated entries help readers gain an understanding of the essentials of the field with entries on topics such as multilingualism, language policy and planning, language assessment and testing, translation and interpreting, and many others. Accessible for readers who are new to applied linguistics, The Concise Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics: Includes entries written by experts in a broad range of areas within applied linguistics Explains the theory and research approaches used in the field for analysis of language, language use, and contexts of language use Demonstrates the connections among theory, research, and practice in the study of language issues Provides a perfect starting point for pursuing essential topics in applied linguistics Designed to offer readers an introduction to the range of topics and approaches within the field, The Concise Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics is ideal for new students of applied linguistics and for researchers in the field.
ISBN: 1119147387Publication Date: 2019-11-20 -
Handbook of the Changing World Language Map
This reference work delivers an interdisciplinary, applied spatial and geographical approach to the study of languages and linguistics. This work includes chapters and sections related to language origins, diffusion, conflicts, policies, education/instruction, representation, technology, regions, and mapping. Also addressed is the mapping of languages and linguistic diversity, on language in the context of politics, on the relevance of language to cultural identity, on language minorities and endangered languages, and also on language and the arts and non-human language and communication. This reference work looks at the subject matter and contributors to the disciplines and programs in the social sciences and humanities, and the dearth of materials on languages and linguistics. The topics covered are not only discipline-centered, but in the cutting-edge fields that intersect several disciplines and also cut across the social sciences and humanities. These include gender studies, sustainability and development, technology and social media impacts, law and human rights, climate change, public health and epidemiology, architecture, religion, visual representation and mapping. These new and emerging research directions and other intersecting fields are not traditionally discipline-bounded, but cut across numerous fields. The volumes will appeal to those within existing fields and disciplines and those working the intersections at local, regional and global scales.
-
Mémoire des noms de lieux d'origine et d'influence françaises en Saskatchewan: répertoire toponymique
Call Number: FC 3506 L46 2010See also map, Noms de lieux français en Saskatchewan
