Topics covered by this database include patient care, health promotion, professional issues for health care workers, patient education, rehabilitation, and other related subjects. Those with little or no health science background may be able to find useful articles on the more common disease and injury conditions, as well as other health topics, because CINAHL does include some consumer health information. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,100 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included. Includes text in Chinese, Danish, English, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish, and Turkish languages.
Global Health provides an alternative, complementary point of reference with a broad analysis of foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health, developing country information, and other difficult to obtain material.
The Global Health database covers the following aspects of human health and disease:
communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDS)
tropical diseases, i.e, diseases in the tropics (including field and experimental studies)
parasitic diseases and parasitology - medical entomology
human nutrition (including food composition, food poisoning, effects of diet on health, nutritional disorders, and experimental aspects)
community and public health (including chronic diseases, occupational health, health status indicators, the impact of agriculture on health, and cancer epidemiology)
medicinal and poisonous plants (including pharmacology, tissue culture, animal studies, plant composition, allergens, and toxins)
Native Health History Database: Citations and abstracts for information dating from 1652 to approximately 1966.
Native Health Research Database: Citations and abstracts for information dating from 1966 to the present.
This database is particularly strong in the history of northern exploration and current topics such as native landclaims, native health and educational issues, mining, and the environmental impacts of development in the north.
Types of materials indexed include articles from journals, northern newspapers, native newspapers, newsletters, selected conference proceedings, selected annual and government reports, and other grey literature.
This index is best searched by Keyword.
PolarInfo includes materials published from January 1996 to to June 2004. To access older materials (back to 1972) or more recent materials (July 2004-) use the
Arctic and Antarctic regions database