Media as plural of Medium:
Media / Mass Media:
(from OED oxford english dictionary March 2021
There is NO single or best search engine (we call them "databases"). Each search engine / database has its own content, features, and ways of searching. Furthermore, different formats/genres require different search methods: e.g. books vs. articles (academic, trade, popular) vs. films vs. audio vs. newspapers vs. primary sources vs. art works, etc.
"Search the Library" is a good start. Enter a known title or some keywords and let it decide how to search and display. Or use "advanced search" to take control over your search. e.g. use specific fields, AND, OR, "quotation marks", wildcards and truncation, proximity.
To limit mostly to books in our library system, click "catalogue only" on the main page or University of Alberta Library under the Databases facets in the left menu on results pages. This also includes journal titles we subscribe to, some audio/visual like films and musics (but not all), maps, and other formats we have in our collection.
Use metadata (e.g. subject terms, author) hyperlink to find similar items, or incorporate them into your keyword searches
Some advanced search hints -->
Many database search engines include scholarly articles.
Here are some good starting places. Find more: subject guides or find databases.
Trade publications are not considered scholarly but are a great sources for scholarly work. You can often find information on things like film studios, production, distribution, technology developments, legal issues like censorship, reviews, ad even plot summaries for films that have been lost. Not all publications are searchable in databases, so you may have to scan through print or microfilm copies
Film and Cinema
Search term suggestions and other ideas for locating sources on specific media formats: