Division IV (Grade 10 - Grade 12) Library Science Resources
Review the grade level sections below and use the keywords to find information about the topics below for each class and grade level:
Science 10-20-30:
science and climate change
science and activity programs
energy and teaching
Biology 10-20:
biology and teaching
biology and experiments
biology and activity programs
Chemistry 20-30:
chemistry and teaching
chemistry and activity programs
chemistry and handbooks
Physics 10-20:
physics and teaching
physics and experiments
physics and encyclopedias
Science 14-24:
science and lesson planning
science and experiments
science and activity programs
Science 10-4, 20-4:
science and teaching
science and activity planning
energy and experiments
Supplementary Division IV Math Resources
- ATA Sciences Grades 10-12 This guide contains resources, interactive activities and videos that can used with the Science curriculum from Grades 10-12, which includes Biology, Chemistry and Physics
Program of Study
-
Pre-2022 Alberta Science Programs - Topic Summary Chart summarizing topics within Alberta’s science program.
-
Pre-2022 Programs of Study: Science. Alberta Education Programs of Study as set out by Alberta Education.
Authorized Resources
Resources
-
A Practical Guide to Teaching Science in the Secondary School
by
This practical and accessible workbook is designed to support student teachers as they develop their basic teaching skills and increase their broader knowledge and understanding for teaching science. Newly qualified and beginning teachers should also find it useful. It contains all the advice, guidance and resources new and student science teachers need to reflect on and develop their teaching practice, helping them to plan lessons across the subject in a variety of teaching situations. Helpful features include: case studies examples of pupils' work examples of existing good practice a range of tried-and-tested teaching strategies photocopiable resources and training materials activities in each chapter to help student history teachers analyse their learning and performance web links for further reading on evidence-based practice.
-
Hard-to-Teach Biology Concepts
by
This well-researched book provides a valuable instructional framework for high school biology teachers as they tackle five particularly challenging concepts in their classrooms, meiosis, photosynthesis, natural selection, proteins and genes, and environmental systems and human impact. The author counsels educators first to identify students' prior conceptions, especially misconceptions, related to the concept being taught, then to select teaching strategies that best dispel the misunderstandings and promote the greatest student learning. The book is not a prescribred set of lesson plans. Rather it presents a framework for lesson planning, shares appropriate approaches for developing student understanding, and provides opportunities to reflect and apply those approached to the five hard-to-teach topics. More than 300 teacher resources are listed.
-
New Physics for You
by
The most popular series for GCSE has now been improved and updated to match the new GCSE Science specifications for AQA, Edexcel and OCR. Brand new content and additional sections such as 'How Science Works' and 'Doing Your Coursework', ensure your students have all the support they need to follow the new specifications.
-
Encyclopedia of Physics
by
Physics is a challenging yet rewarding science for students in high school and college. A comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia of physics, Encyclopedia of Physics presents a broad overview of the field at a level and in a format suitable for students and general readers. Focused on pure physics - which deals with the most fundamental aspects of nature such as light, sound, movement, and force - its scope of coverage is wide and significant, including entries on concepts, terms, effects, laws, principles, theories, experiments, observations, people, institutions, organizations, issues, laboratories, and other subjects. discuss interdisciplinary subjects, such as applied physics, astrophysics, biophysics, chemical physics, geophysics, and medical physics. Biographical entries present personal profiles of important physicists, past and present, and list their accomplishments. Details about their achievements are presented in separate, cross-referenced entries. While the emphasis is on the present state of physics, the science's historical background and development are explained, as appropriate, to give perspective on current issues in physics. With more than 600 entries, 11 prose essays on particularly interesting topics in physics, and more than 180 black-and-white photographs and line illustrations, this is an ideal reference to this core area of science.
-
Hands-on general science activities with real-life applications
by
In this second edition of <i>Hands-On General Science Activities with Real Life Applications</i>, Pam Walker and Elaine Wood have completely revised and updated their must-have resource for science teachers of grades 5 12. The book offers a dynamic collection of classroom-ready lessons, projects, and lab activities that encourage students to integrate basic science concepts and skills into everyday life.
