Free and Discounted Open Access Publishing
There are many Article Processing Charge (APC) discounts and waivers available to U of A researchers. If you are interested in publishing your research Open Access, please look at the Article Processing Charge Support page.
Evaluating Information
Use the CRAAP Test
Currency - Is it timely?
Relevance - Useful for your purposes?
Authority - Who? What is the source?
Accuracy - References to back it up?
Purpose - Why? Is there a bias?
More detailed information on the CRAAP Test
Journal Abbreviation Tool
- CASSIChemical Abstracts Service Source Index. A tool for creating, or deciphering, journal abbreviations
Databases for Finding Articles
Chemistry Databases
- SciFinder-nSciFinder-n is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature, searchable by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number, or using the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. Users must register for a SciFinder account.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new windowIndexes literature related to chemical reactions. Coverage from 1771
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Web of Science - All DatabasesMajor interdisciplinary database that includes citation and cited author searching. Coverage of selected titles from 1899.
- ScopusThe world's largest largest interdisciplinary database, includes citation and cited author searching. Comprehensive coverage from 1960. Incomplete coverage for earlier years.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is the largest interdisciplinary database. Make sure to use simple searches for the best results.
Patents
- Derwent Innovations IndexValue-added patent information from Derwent World Patent Index as well as patent citation information from Patents Citation Index.
- Patent and Trademark Subject GuideFor more detailed information on finding patents and trademarks, visit the Patent and Trademark guide.
Peer Reviewed Journals
To determine whether a journal is peer reviewed, search for it in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory and look for the little referee symbol: 
.
Find a Journal Article From a Reference
- Chemistry Reference ResolverLooking for an article? Already have a reference? This tool may take you directly to the article if we subscribe to the journal.
