Open Textbooks
The following are online open textbooks that you can access for free to supplement the textbooks in your courses. To learn more about open textbooks visit the Open Educational Resources guide.
-
Chemistry 2eChemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course.
-
Chemistry Atoms First 2eThe intention of “atoms-first” involves a few basic principles: first, it introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach, and it threads these themes through subsequent chapters.
eBooks
Top Choice: Reference eBook Collections
-
Knovel
Search over one thousand Science and Engineering reference eBooks. Includes interactive tables
Reference eBook Collections
-
Reference Module in Materials Science and Materials Engineering
Search the complete contents of 13 encyclopedias and major reference works from Elsevier (over 80 volumes in print) -
Reference Module in Chemistry, Molecular Sciences and Chemical Engineering
Search the complete contents of 23 encyclopedias and major reference works from Elsevier (over 200 volumes in print)
Encyclopedias
-
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
6 volumes -
Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry: Volume 3, Applications
ISBN: 9781003803232 -
Encyclopedia of Surface and Colloid Science (Third Edition)
ISBN: 1466590610 -
Encyclopedia of Toxicology
ISBN: 9780123864550 -
EMagRes
ISBN: 9780470034590 -
Burger's Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery, and Development, Set
ISBN: 9780471266945
Handbooks
-
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, Seventeenth Edition
The Go-To Reference for Chemists for More Than 70 Years - Lange's provides a reliable one-stop source of factual information for today's working chemist. Within its pages, you will find an unmatched compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings that span every area of chemistry. Included in this fully updated Seventeenth Edition are listings of the properties of more than 4,000 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds. ; -
Wilson and Wilson's Comprehensive Analytical Chemistry
Comprehensive Analytical Chemistry presents the basic principles, recent developments and important applications of analytical chemistry. For each topic, an overview is given of the current status of the field and recommendations for an appropriate analytical approach are presented.
Dictionaries
eBook Collections
-
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) eBooks This link opens in a new windowAll RSC eBooks from 1968 to present
-
Organic ReactionsComplete content (over 80 volumes) of this Wiley eBook series from 1942 to present
-
ScienceDirectComplete Elsevier eBook collection from 2007 to present; incomplete coverage for earlier years. The "Advanced Search" fuction will allow you to limit your search to e-books only
-
Springer Nature Link (formerly SpringerLink)Complete Springer eBook collection from 2005 to present. The "Advanced Search" fuction will allow you to limit your search to e-books only
-
Taylor & Francis eBooksIncludes Taylor & Francis e-books, CRC Press e-books, and Routledge Handbooks Online.
-
Wiley Online LibraryComplete eBook collection from 2013 to present; incomplete coverage for earlier years
Theses and Dissertations
-
Dissertations & Theses @ University of Alberta This content of this database is a subset of Dissertations and Theses Global, covering University of Alberta publications from 1954 through 2014. Full text is available for many, but not all, titles. NOTE: UofA no longer contributes content to this database. See also: Electronic Theses and Dissertations (University of Alberta).
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index Also known as:|Dissertations and Theses Global|. Includes contributions from North American graduate schools and European universities. Coverage begins with the first U.S. dissertation accepted in 1861. UofA theses and dissertations are included from 1954 through 2014, with full text available for many, but not all, titles. NOTE: UofA no longer contributes content to this database. Please see the UofA Library's Education and Research Archive (ERA) for more recent UofA theses and dissertations.
-
Theses Canada Portal This site is a collaboration between Library and Archives Canada and Canadian universities. It provides free access to the full text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations.
-
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
Check out this library guide for more Dissertations & Theses