Subject Guides: Communication Sciences and Disorders: Articles

Information on....

Resources available for mobile devices
Workshops offered by the Library
Library Tutorials These tutorials provide an overview of each step in the process of writing a paper including finding topic ideas, different types of information sources, locating and evaluating relevant information and citing appropriately to avoid plagiarism.
Library Services for Distance Students
Search Process for Systematic Reviews
Covidence Covidence is a web-based systematic review manager that provides a platform for importing and independent screening of article records. The software supports the use of customized forms for risk of bias assessment and data extraction and exporting of references and data.

Articles and Key Communication Databases

Please Note: Because the literature in CSD is spread across the health, education and linguistics fields, I recommend first using the main search box on the library homepage as that searches across 50 different databases. However the following list of specific databases are some of the best bets in the field.

MEDLINE (1946-present via Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL Plus with Full Text (1937 to the present) provides indexing for the major English language journals in the areas of nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy and other allied health fields such as respiratory technology, x-ray technology, etc. Topics covered by this database include patient care, health promotion, professional issues for health care workers, patient education, rehabilitation, and other related subjects. Those with little or no health science background may be able to find useful articles on the more common disease and injury conditions, as well as other health topics, because CINAHL does include some consumer health information. 
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.

Other Useful Databases

Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window Contains references to the current and historical literature related to the growth and development of children through the age of 21. Included are book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals, and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations that cover the biomedical and social sciences worldwide. Over 10,000 new records added each year.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index This link opens in a new window Also known as:|Dissertations and Theses Global|. Includes contributions from North American graduate schools and European universities. Coverage begins with the first U.S. dissertation accepted in 1861. UofA theses and dissertations are included from 1954 through 2014, with full text available for many, but not all, titles. NOTE: UofA no longer contributes content to this database.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EMBASE This link opens in a new window EMBASE (1974 to the present) is a medical database which covers a wide range of journals in the biomedical sciences. EMBASE is particularly useful for locating drug information, as it indexes many drug journals not covered by MEDLINE. PLEASE NOTE: Our EMBASE license allows for only four simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window ERIC (1966 to the present) covers all aspects of education, from preschool to post-secondary and adult education, and all topics within the broad discipline.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window Provides access to information on measurement instruments in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed (with links to UofA e-journals) This link opens in a new window Also known as: |MEDLINE (PubMed version)|  PubMed (1946 to the present) covers the world's biomedical and health sciences journal literature. Includes links to full text licensed by the University of Alberta. Can be used on-campus, or off-campus with authentication using a University of Alberta CCID.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window SAGE Research Methods is a web-based research methods tool that covers quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help design research projects, understand a particular method or identify a new method, and write up research. Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, and is of potential use to researchers from the social sciences, health sciences and other research areas.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Web Of Science Core Collection includes Citation Indexes for Arts & Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Reference Management and Citations

Mendeley Reference Manager Video Series

Zotero Tutorial

Getting Started with Zotero
This ~30-minute interactive video tutorial will guide you through downloading Zotero and using its key functions.

Subject Librarian

Liz Dennett

Email Me

Contact:

Geoffrey and Robyn Sperber Health Sciences Library
liz.dennett@ualberta.ca